MICRO-LIGHT BYTES

Good morning. Over the past 4 days I have been reading word for today by Bob Gass and shared a few thoughts yesterday on the subject of covetousness which Bob’s been covering! It has been very challenging to me personally and it’s hard to look into the mirror of God’s word and see yourself for what you are in some areas, and even harder to admit it not only to God but also to those who read these posts! However, I believe in being real and honest, and I have found that my real-ness, openness and honesty has helped many folk! So read on as I let Bob Gass have the final word on the subject.

Sunday April 7th
‘be content with such things as you have…’ Hebrews 13:5 NKJV
COVETOUSNESS
If your goals are God-centred, He will help you to achieve them. But if you are asking Him for something just because your neighbour has it, you’ll be disappointed. The Bible says, ‘…No good thing will he withhold from them that walk uprightly’ (Psalms 84:11 NAS). When God withholds something from you, trust Him; He knows what He’s doing. God loves you too much to give you what you’re not ready for, can’t handle, doesn’t fit into His plan for your life, or will end up draining your energies and maybe even destroying you. When you covet something, make it essential to your happiness, and beg God to give it to you, you’re asking Him to replace Himself with something you consider more important. When you do this, God may allow you to experience the consequences Israel suffered. ‘He gave them their request; but sent leanness into their soul’ (Psalms 106:15 NKJV).

Don’t reach the end of your life only to look back with regret on a shattered marriage, children who’ve gone astray, a blighted conscience, or the pain of realising you missed out on God’s best. Our problem is not that we don’t want God; it’s that we want God plus a house by the sea, an impressive career, a perfect spouse, or whatever catches our fancy. That’s why Jesus said, ‘…Take heed and beware of covetousness, for one’s life does not consist in the abundance of the things he possesses’ (Luke 12:15 NKJV). Life is not built on things, it’s built on relationships. And the first relationship you need to work on is your relationship with God. [Bob Gass word for today]

PRAYER Gracious and loving Father God. I thank you that you care so much for me that you would withhold those things that I really want but which you know are not good for me! Please continue to withhold those things even if I come kicking and screaming to you! I want the best for my life and so that means putting you first and above everything else. Please help me to do this in Jesus’ name. Amen.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MICRO-LIGHT BYTES

  1. kim says:

    Thankyou x

Leave a Reply

