ACCIDENTALLY ON PURPOSE

Coincidently; “I don’t think so!”

Jeremiah 29:11 Revised Standard Version (RSV)

11 For I know the plans [purposes] I have for you, says the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope

Hi there. We are just about to start a new study for our new batch of youngsters at Church and it’s based around ‘purpose, significance and meaning in life!’ I personally don’t believe that we are just the sum total of random molecules, proteins and amino acids, sequenced together through our DNA! I don’t believe I was an accident! I don’t believe it was coincidence that brought my father to England from Poland [the only one of his family during world war two] that he was based in Scotland and then just happened to come to live in Halesowen, then lodge in a house just up the road from the now non existent Borough hall, then just happened to go to a certain dance at that venue one specific night and meet the young lady who was going to be my mum, and the rest as they say is history! I believe God brought my dad to England so that his unique genes and my mum’s unique genes would be blended together to make the one and only ever to be unique me! My take on life and my own personal experience is that we all have a purpose in life; and I’ll go a step further and say I believe I have a God-given purpose in life!

Here’s a few thoughts from today’s WORD FOR TODAY by Bob Gass. I have highlighted the relevant passages!

Choice is the greatest power God gave you. Too many of us just accept our lives—we don’t become leaders of ourselves. As a result, we can’t get out of our own way. Holocaust survivor Elie Wiesel wrote in ‘Souls On Fire’ that when you die and go to meet your Maker, you’re not going to be asked why you didn’t become a Messiah or find a cure for cancer. All you’re going to be asked is, ‘Why didn’t you become you? Why didn’t you become all that you are?’ Fulfilling God’s will for your life requires taking responsibility for yourself and your life. How do you do that? By saying yes to God first—then to yourself. Every time you say yes, you open yourself up to your God-given potential and to the greatest of possibilities. If you’re used to saying no, you may find this difficult. If that is true in your case, then at least be willing to say ‘maybe.’  Never forget that you are unique, possessing talents, experiences and opportunities that no one else has ever had—or ever will have. You’re responsible to become all God made you to be, not only for your own benefit but for everyone else’s.

Tomorrow I’ll share with you a recent experience that has helped me to define my own purpose with greater clarity.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

