ACCIDENTALLY ON PURPOSE

I’M DOING THIS STUDY ON PURPOSE

I agree with Mark Twain to a degree, but have to include my 2nd birthday too! June 14 1983, the day I was born again and began [after 26 years] to truly find my purpose in life!

We don’t discover our life’s purpose straight away, in fact it may take a life time! Sometimes there are clues in our childhood experiences for example, I loved nature and things of the earth! I loved pretending to be one of the Beatles as I stood on the settee, tennis racket in hand and my Woolworths [made in Hong Kong] plastic Beatles wig on my head, oohing to ‘she loves you yeah yeah yeah!’ I’m passionate about 60s music and RocknRoll! I loved analysing things, and asking questions. I enjoyed creativity and art. I was very aesthetically minded as a child! My family used to tell me off for what they called “he’s just showing off” when actually I was trying to be entertaining and make folk laugh which again is one of my purposes in life! [Ok no quips about my jokes please! LOL!]

I can see how those things fit in to my present vocations in life. My job is gardening and a little bit of building work! I am very creative in the work I do. I earn a little bit of money entertaining and singing predominantly [you’ve guessed] 60s music and the Beatles especially! I passionately love leading worship at Church! I enjoy teaching especially with our youth where we take on controversial subjects which cause us to ‘think outside of the box, and analyse things more closely!’ And of course these blogs I am now doing, and may I add, my daily jokes on face book!

I think it’s fair for me to say “I do what I am and I am what I do!’

In 2008 I wasn’t very happy at all and certainly had lost my passion for most things! I hated my job at that time, working in maintenance at the Bullring in Birmingham stuck indoors doing pretty much the same thing day in day out. I wasn’t happy at the Church I was at and leading worship was my worst nightmare. I had no outlet for my other musical skills areas, and the teaching I was doing was mediocre to say the least! I was definitely in Bunyan’s “slough of despond!” At that time, I read a book called ‘Unlocking the power of your purpose’ by John Stanko. It was very helpful and because we are looking at purpose in our youth group, I decided to revisit the book for a few pointers. I had forgotten what I had written at the back and was a bit gobsmacked at what I read! I wrote this down in the Summer of 2008 ‘PURPOSE’ [1] I want to get back to doing work I enjoy! Landscaping/gardening.  [2] I want so sing and play guitar at Church and compose songs, and play meaningful worship. [3] I want to teach and preach the word of God and see people grow. [4] I would love to sing 60s music and entertain on a regular basis for enjoyment and even perhaps a small income!

It’s been great this week to write at the side of each of these the partial fulfilment of these purpose prayer requests. Summer 2013 [1] I amazingly got my present work in Stratford as a gardener through nothing short of a miracle from God, and I love it! [2] I lead worship at an awesome Church called Gateway Christian Centre and my pastor who leads worship also, saw the potential in me and has drawn it out. I haven’t yet composed songs but the Spirit is helping me to arrange old songs and hymns. [3] all of my preaching has pretty well stopped but my teaching has increased, again an answer to purposeful prayer. [4] I have been doing open mic nights for the past 4 yrs, this has given me confidence to do sing-alongs at the care home where I garden which has lead to paid gigs at local care homes in which I do a range of songs from the 40s -70s music. And now I have my first private gig for someone’s birthday doing Neil Diamond and Johnny Cash songs. This I am praying will lead to more private gigs which I believe is part of my purpose in life. I have thought a lot about what I would term my ‘purpose statement’! I think it is perhaps this: ‘To bring pleasure and enjoyment to people through my creative gardening and through music. To build up and encourage God’s people through leading praise and worship and through teaching’ 

Perhaps it may be good for you to get alone with God and pray about His plans and purposes for your life and come up with your own purpose statement; then work prayerfully towards its fulfilment! Then go out and be a real blessing to others.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

