I’M DOING THIS ON PURPOSE

FOR THIS PURPOSE

1 John 3:8

New American Standard Bible (NASB)

the one who practices sin is of the devil; for the devil [a]has sinned from the beginning. The Son of God appeared for this purpose, to destroy the works of the devil.

God had a purpose for revealing Christ. The above scripture is God’s purpose statement for Christ the Messiah, ‘to destroy the works of the devil’. Now I confess, I’m better with my hands than my head so someone will have to do the math for me. Jesus spent 30 years being prepared for 3 years ministry which was completed in 3 days! Could someone do the percentages for me?

Nevertheless, the point is God spends years preparing His servants for sometimes short bursts of ministry, then it’s back to some more preparations!

JOSEPH was 17 when God began to prepare him for his specific purpose! His first port of call was in a Pit with his brothers arguing whether they should kill him or sell him. Then he spent some time at the house of Potipher training for administrative purposes. Then he was falsely accused of seducing Potifer’s wife and was thrown in to Prison, where he continued with his administrative training and where he remained till he was 30 years old. Then he became the Prime minister of Egypt, fulfilling his administrative purposes to save Egypt and the surrounding nations by delivering thousands from famine. [which was God’s main purpose for him]. What a traumatic preparation time! But that’s what is required at times. The path of purpose is not an easy one. Just read the whole Bible to see that!

MOSES spent 40 years in the palace of Pharaoh being trained to lead. Then God drove him in to the wilderness for another 40 years for further leadership training by being a shepherd leading stupid sheep! Then he spent another 40 years leading the Israelites in circles before they entered the promised land. However the promise of entering the promised land for Moses didn’t happen at that time as he had sinned against God! However about 1680 years later after Moses has died, God allowed Moses to stand on a mountain in the promised land with Elijah and the 3 main Apostles, Peter, James and John with Jesus their Messiah at the centre.

I don’t know about you but I feel like I’ve been on The Potter’s purpose wheel for so long that I’m dizzy; but I know all these things are working towards God’s purpose for my life. I’m not there yet and I don’t fully know where ‘THERE’ is? But I believe God works all things for my good because He loves me and I love Him and have been called according to His purposes.

Finally, for today at least, I read this this morning, have a chew on it and I’ll look at it tomorrow. ‘if you are too lazy to plough [preparation] in the right season [timing] you will have no food at the harvest. [the purpose of ploughing and investing time!] Proverbs 20:4 (italics mine)

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

