I’M DOING THIS THING ON PURPOSE

GOD’S PURPOSE

We have been looking at finding our purpose in life. At the end of the day, the most important question is ‘what is God’s purpose for my life?’ Well, I guess if we check out the Bible from Genesis to Revelation we’ll see God working out His purposes for individuals, groups, nations and the world, then ultimately His purpose for Christ, the Church and you and I!

However, for me, God’s purpose is summed up in two verses in the Bible here they are:

Romans 8:28-29

New International Version (NIV)

28 And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. 29 For those God foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brothers and sisters.

I like the Living Bible translation also:

Romans 8:28-29

Living Bible (TLB)

28 And we know that all that happens to us is working for our good if we love God and are fitting into his plans. 29 For from the very beginning God decided that those who came to him—and all along he knew who would—should become like his Son, so that his Son would be the First, with many brothers. God’s ultimate purpose is to transform us and conform us in to the image of Christ! In a nutshell God wants us to be like Jesus Christ! That opens up some big questions like

  • ‘How long will that take?’ I think 1 John 3:2 sums that up nicely:

    1 John 3:2

    New International Version – UK (NIVUK)

    Dear friends, now we are children of God, and what we will be has not yet been made known. But we know that when Christ appears, we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is.

Note the phrase ‘when He appears’, for me that says that though whilst here on earth I am in fact a child of God and I am chosen in the beloved and belong to God, however, I’m daily being changed in to His likeness! But until I pass from this earth into His presence I’ll not be fully like Him even though by His indwelling Spirit He is fully and complete in me! Or to put it more bluntly, ‘I have Him, but He doesn’t fully have me because of un- surrendered areas in my life and all the stuff and baggage and dross I carry around!’ OOOH  now that’s being honest, and it leads to the next question!

  • How does God conform me, shape and mould me into the likeness of Christ?

I heard it said that a long time ago someone asked Michael Angelo what he planned to sculpture from the big lump of marble standing in front of him! He replied ‘a horse!’ The person asked ‘how are you going to create a horse from THAT?’ To which Michael Angelo replied, ‘I’m going to hammer and chisel away ANYTHING that doesn’t look like a horse!’

That’s how God makes us more like Jesus! He chisels away at anything that doesn’t look like or conform to the likeness of Christ! He’s been doing that for 30 years in my life and there’s still loads of knocking to do. But in the end it will all be worth it, and the benefits even now are priceless. More of this tomorrow as we look at some more of the HOWS!

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

