I’M DOING THIS ON PURPOSE

GENERATIONS

Acts 13:36

New International Version (NIV)

36 “Now when David had served God’s purpose in his own generation, he fell asleep; he was buried with his ancestors and his body decayed.

The main reason I have been looking at purpose as a theme has been for our youth at Church. They are The Next Generation! Neil and I are encouraging and teaching our youth to work at finding and fulfilling their purpose and working with us [an older generation] in finding our purposes and working them out together!

I mentioned the other day how the Star Trek Generations film struck a chord in me to actively find and fulfil my purpose. The question of Kirk, ‘did we do it, did we make a difference’, got me to ask the same question! Am I making a difference, and when I die will I have made a difference and fulfilled my purpose on earth? Will the Lord say of me ‘John served God’s purposes in his own generation and for the next generation then died?’ So then, I think that what I am doing now [these blogs], with teaching our youth, with leading worship, entertaining and gardening is fulfilling my purpose and [I hope] making a difference!

So I have to ask us all, ‘are we doing God’s purposes and are we making a difference? Are we going to serve the purposes of God for our generation and help the next generation of young Christians?’ I discovered yesterday how this works to a degree! My son is out of work at the moment and yesterday was my day off. We did stuff together but mainly he helped me in my garden. Now Karl’s not a gardener but I am with over 32 years experience! However, Karl’s itching to work, he’s like me he needs to be active, occupied and doing stuff. So with his drive, enthusiasm and determination, he motivated me because I’d almost given up on my garden because all I’ve done for the last 4 months is 5-6 days a week, 12 hours a day doing other folk’s gardens and so I have no energy for my own! Karl was my energy yesterday, I was his advisor and guide. He’s learned a lot of things about gardening! Who knows, he might get it in his blood and be able to grow his own garden and feed his family with fresh veg in the future or earn a bit of money doing gardening! I may have linked him to part of his future purposes. That’s how it works! I have something to give my son, he’s got something to give to me and together [as far as my garden is concerned, we made a difference.] Oh and just in case you think he did the work and I stood and watched, no I have learned over the last 30 years that I have to lead by example and so I worked just as hard, but Karl ‘s enthusiasm was my incentive and my knowledge and experience was his. He wants to learn and put that knowledge to work! I want to pass on my accrued knowledge and experiences before I pass on to the higher life! Most of the youth today want to learn and be active also! We have just got to find the time to pass on the baton!

So go and pass on whatever it is you’ve got to give. God didn’t give it to you just for yourself! Find a way to make this generation and the next part of your purpose in life!

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

