I’M DOING THIS ON PURPOSE

GENERATIONS

It is possible that you missed the previous purpose blogs due to connection to face book problems? Please check out back posts to get them all in context. Thanks 🙂

Acts 13:36

New International Version (NIV)

36 “Now when David had served God’s purpose in his own generation, he fell asleep; he was buried with his ancestors and his body decayed.

At one point in the Generations film, Picard implores Kirk to return with him to stop the evil Dr Tolian Soran. On his own, Picard failed to stop Soran and that’s how he ended up in the nexus! But Kirk says he’s done his bit for the Federation and that he owes them nothing. He was going to enjoy his retirement and someone else can take the captain’s seat.

The word retirement and volunteer are not in the Bible, at least not in the sense as we understand them today. I don’t see anyone retiring in the Bible! Check them out. Abraham, Joseph, Moses, Caleb, Joshua, David, Peter, John, Paul, and last but by no means least, Jesus Himself, He also served the purposes of God for every generation, then breathed His last on the cross and died! And even now He still works, ‘He ever lives to pray and intercede for us’. We retire from secular work, yes I agree, and officially I can retire in 10 years from now! [don’t think so God willing]; but we don’t retire from God’s service simply “because we are not employees!” We are a nation of Priests and Kings and so we serve till we cease to breathe! You say ‘what if we can’t physically serve?’ Well, you can pray, you can listen, you can encourage, you can write, you can sing, give to the needy! The list is endless.

The same is true of the word Volunteer. The Bible calls us Followers, Disciples, Servants! But never Volunteers. That’s a tough one but I’ve heard Pastors and Ministers say ‘we can’t expect too much from folk, after all they are only Volunteers!’ Now before you think I’m being critical, I’ve been a pastor and I’ve said that myself for fear of upsetting folk! Don’t worry I’ve dealt that one a death blow!

Read this passage, it’s a real tough one! Jesus is speaking to His disciples which I guess includes you and I!

Luke 17:7-10

New Life Version (NLV)

Jesus Teaches about Being Faithful

“What if you owned a servant who was working in the field or taking care of sheep? Would you say to him when he came in from his work, ‘Come and sit down to eat?’ No, instead you would say, ‘Get my supper ready. Dress yourself and care for me until I am through eating and drinking. Then you can eat and drink.’ Does the servant get thanks for doing what he was told to do? I am sure he does not. 10 It is the same with you also. When you do everything you have been told to do, you must say, ‘We are not any special servants. We have done only what we should have done.’”

Now, the truth is we are very special to God, but when it comes to service we are simply doing our duty to our King. And the context of the chapter is about faith and thanksgiving! Nevertheless, it is Jesus who tells us that what we do is out of love and duty to Him. Now, let us also put it in context of the whole Bible, it is clear that if our service to God is motivated by love and selflessness, there will be rewards. Gold, silver and precious stones [Spiritual]

1 Corinthians 3:10-15

New International Version (NIV)

10 By the grace God has given me, I laid a foundation as a wise builder, and someone else is building on it. But each one should build with care. 11 For no one can lay any foundation other than the one already laid, which is Jesus Christ. 12 If anyone builds on this foundation using gold, silver, costly stones, wood, hay or straw, 13 their work will be shown for what it is, because the Day will bring it to light. It will be revealed with fire, and the fire will test the quality of each person’s work. 14 If what has been built survives, the builder will receive a reward. 15 If it is burned up, the builder will suffer loss but yet will be saved—even though only as one escaping through the flames.

So in the words of Captain Picard I close “come with me, let us stop this evil. Together we can make a difference!”

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

