MICRO-LIGHT BYTES

 

 

PRAYER CHANGES THINGS

As well as my study on Ephesians 2:10, I want to post a few prayer items that I am at present looking at. It would be great if you join me on this little walk in the lush valley of prayer!

I read today that one of the reasons Samson failed so easily is because he found prayer so hard! In fact there is only one recorded prayer of Samson and that was when he was in dire straights just before he died and though it was in part self-less, yet there was still an element of self in it.

This is what Bob Gass says in Word For Today

Samson was a loser, Joseph was a winner. Samson had everything going for him. He was the product of a miracle birth, raised by godly parents, and given supernatural strength. Yet he failed miserably. Why? 1) He did not pray. The only time we read of Samson praying is when he was in trouble. Sound familiar? If you conduct a post-mortem on your biggest failures, somewhere in the wreckage you’ll find that you’ve forsaken the place of prayer. You can’t run your car on an empty tank, work on an empty stomach, or pay bills with an empty current account. And you can’t live a victorious Christian life without daily prayer.

I am going through Psalm 23 in my studies and using the Psalm as a prayer! So in conjunction with Masterpieces, I’ll be posting some prayers as well. Hope you join me in praying so that our tanks are full, and our prayer accounts are not empty. So until tomorrow, here’s the full read of Bob Gass today.

Tuesday October 22

“If you know these things.” John 13:17 AMP

“These things happened to them as examples…for us…”

1 Corinthians 10:11 NIV

Samson and Joseph (1)

Samson was a loser, Joseph was a winner. Samson had everything going for him. He was the product of a miracle birth, raised by godly parents, and given supernatural strength. Yet he failed miserably. Why? 1) He did not pray. The only time we read of Samson praying is when he was in trouble. Sound familiar? If you conduct a post-mortem on your biggest failures, somewhere in the wreckage you’ll find that you’ve forsaken the place of prayer. You can’t run your car on an empty tank, work on an empty stomach, or pay bills with an empty current account. And you can’t live a victorious Christian life without daily prayer. 2) He refused to live by God’s Word. When confronted by his parents over marrying the wrong woman, Samson told them, ‘…She pleaseth me well’ (Judges 14:3 KJV). When you’re led by sentiment rather than Scripture, you’re heading for trouble. One of the best definitions of ‘disobedience’ is ‘incomplete obedience.’ You can’t pick which Scriptures you want to live by and turn a blind eye to the rest! 3) He had the wrong spirit. While Joseph extended forgiveness to those who’d harmed him, Samson prayed for revenge. Any time you give in to resentment you’re allowing someone other than God to dictate your actions, and you end up suffering even more. 4) He was motivated by greed. Consorting with the Philistines, he placed a bet with thirty of them, saying, ‘If you can’t tell me the answer, you must give me… thirty sets of clothes (Judges 14:13 NIV). You say, ‘What’s the point?’ If it could happen to Samson, it could happen to you!

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

