MICRO-LIGHT BYTES

Well, I have no inspiration today, my life’s been dried up by life! Thankfully, Bob Gass is well on form and so I will share two of this weeks word for today’s as I think they are brilliant. Thank you Mr Gass.

Friday, 25 October 2013

Mirror, Mirror on the Wall (1)
                                           ‘…The clay doesn’t ask, “Why did you make me this way?”…’ Isaiah 45:9 CEVA lot of us are unhappy with what we see in the mirror. Indeed, some of us are so unhappy that we spend a fortune to change it. And while it’s good to look your best, God never intended our looks as a statement of our value to Him, or to others. Whatever physical features you may have inherited, here are some Scriptural truths worth considering: (1) Resenting your looks just puts you at odds with God. The Bible says, ‘You have no right to argue with your Creator. You are…a clay pot shaped by a potter. The clay doesn’t ask, “Why did you make me this way?”‘ (Isaiah 45:9 CEV) God intends you to be His clay container; a practical, usable vessel; not a fancy ornament for display. ‘Our bodies are made of clay, yet we have the treasure of the Good News in them. This shows that the superior power of this treasure belongs to God and doesn’t come from us.’ (2 Corinthians 4:7 GWT) Your value isn’t in how you look, but in what you contain – the life-changing message of God’s grace! (2) Resenting your looks results from false comparisons. Today we’re driven to become reflections of some unattainable ideal. Airbrushed models on TV sell us everything from cornflakes to cars. Let’s get real! ‘…They are only comparing themselves with each other, using themselves as the standard of measurement. How ignorant!’ (2 Corinthians 10:12 NLT) Unhappiness over your appearance results from ignorance of God’s marvellous and creative purpose for you. And that’ll become clear to you when you ‘…look only to Jesus, the One who began our faith and who makes it perfect…’ (Hebrews 12:2 NCV)Saturday, 26 October 2013

Mirror, Mirror on the Wall (2)
                                           ‘Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvellous…’ Psalm 139:14 NLT So, how should you view the role of your physical appearance? (1) With gratitude. Thank God for the unique person He created you to be. You’re not the result of random genetics. You’re a genuine ‘one-off’, designed by God to fill a slot no one else can fill. He is what makes you who you are! ‘You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and knit me together in my mother’s womb.’ (Psalm 139:13 NLT) ‘Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvellous.’ You didn’t come from an assembly line like some product designed to fulfil a quota. No, you received the detailed, individualised focus of the Divine Architect. The Psalmist said, ‘You watched me as I was being formed… as I was woven together in…the womb.’ (Psalms 139:15 NLT) Now, that’s attention at the highest level, right? So give God thanks: you were created, inspected and approved in Heaven before you moved a muscle on earth. (2) With understanding. Discover God’s purpose for your life. You weren’t designed to impress others or to seek their approval. In God’s eyes, your looks are not the measure of your worth. ‘…The Lord doesn’t see things the way you see them. People judge by outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.’ (1 Samuel 16:7 NLT) Start seeing yourself as God sees you. Ultimately, His opinion is the only one that matters. Indeed, ‘…He decided in advance that [His people] would be conformed to the image of His Son…’ (Romans 8:29 CEB) Rejoice! God won’t be finished working on you until He’s made you just like Jesus.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

