MICRO-LIGHT BYTES

A PROVERB A DAY HELPS YOU WORK, REST AND PRAY

PRAY

I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but there are 31 proverbs! And as you may notice, it’s the 24th today and I’m on proverbs 24! I think God did this so that we would read a chapter of proverbs each day to obtain wisdom and godly common sense! 2 thirds of the year contain 31 days! So on the months with 30 days we can read 2 proverbs; one morning and one at night. Then on a leap year I think it becomes an extra 3 which I guess we can pick and choose! So, give it a try, you’ll not regret it I promise. 🙂

Proverbs 24:3-7

Living Bible (TLB)  Any enterprise is built by wise planning, becomes strong through common sense, and profits wonderfully by keeping abreast of the facts. A wise man is mightier than a strong man. Wisdom is mightier than strength. Don’t go to war without wise guidance; there is safety in many counselors.  Wisdom is too much for a rebel. He’ll not be chosen as a counselor!

Now you’re thinking [I guess] ‘what’s these verses got to do with prayer?’ Answer, everything! It’s talking about using wisdom, keeping up to date with the facts and using common sense in everything we do! Now, where does true wisdom come from?

James 3:17 Living Bible (TLB)  But the wisdom that comes from heaven is first of all pure and full of quiet gentleness. Then it is peace-loving and courteous. It allows discussion and is willing to yield to others; it is full of mercy and good deeds. It is wholehearted, straightforward and sincere.

Ok, so who gives us this wisdom? James 1:5 New Living Translation (NLT) If you need wisdom, ASK OUR GENEROUS GOD, and he will give it to you. How do we obtain this from God? ASK Him! What is asking? It is prayer! So, let us pray.

PRAYER heavenly Father, we are all building some enterprise or another; be it family, relationships, homes, business, education, Church, skills or whatever; but to do it well and successfully we need wisdom and the best wisdom as James teaches is from above, from you! Father we want everything we do to be successful and profitable, because in all these things I’ve mentioned we have invested so much time, effort, energy, love, commitment, money and many things; so I for one expect some good returns! That’s success and it is something you want us to be. You said at the very start INCREASE AND DO NOT DECREASE! I’d call that success and profit through investments! And so our gracious God, I ask for your help this day and every day to make wise decisions through godly common sense so we may increase and not decrease. In the name of Jesus I ask this, so be it.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

