31 DAYS OF CHRISTMAS THOUGHTS, PRAYERS AND PRAISE

DAY 5

GOD’S PERFECT TIMING

Galatians 4:4 ‘But when the right time came, the time God decided upon, He sent His son, born of a woman, born as a Jew’.

So, I conclude this study and prayers on perfect timing today. Listen to Ecclesiastes 3:1

A Time for Everything

‘There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens’. It’s not easy to wait for things especially in our “instant get it now culture!” God waited till all the events were in place as we saw yesterday! He waited till Mary was ready, Joseph had to be ready, the Magi had to be ready, Israel had to be ready, Rome and the whole world had to be ready. The timing had to be perfect. What an orchestrator of happenings our God is! He’s the greatest event planner ever.

Everything had to be ready and in place. Not a moment sooner nor a second later, but spot on timing. As a gardener I can cope with the season’s bit. I’ve been gardening for 33 years and it has taught me great patience; however the ‘time for everything’ is another matter. There are a couple of things I’ve been praying for a long time now and I’m still waiting. It is so hard to wait and all my instincts are telling me to sort it out, to orchestrate events in my favour! However, I’ve done that on several occasions and every time without fail it has backfired on me, people got hurt, I got hurt and had to cry out to God to sort out the chaotic mess I’d caused.

So, now I am waiting, but it is soooo hard! The Lord has recently been teaching me again about waiting for Him and the consequences when we don’t. Abram and Sarai were the most prominent in my mind. They acted without God and a child was born who became a whopping thorn in Israel’s side even to this very day. Jonah didn’t wait to see how things would pan out if he obeyed God the first time! He almost shipwrecked other’s lives till he obeyed God and then there were still great losses. You see, I have discovered to my hurt, pain and shame that my actions always affect other’s lives, for good or ill!

So, after all that why do I still find it hard to wait and simply trust God? I guess it’s impatience, fear of missing out and thinking I need what I need right now and not in God’s time. In other words, at times I/we think we know better than God! Read Galatians 4:4 again and-

PRAY: God my Father, help me to wait for the RIGHT TIME, the time you DECIDE UPON. Help me to let you do things your way and not think I can change your mind for you. Please SEND me your answer through the vehicle and vessel of your choice, from whichever direction you choose and in your perfect time. Amen

PRAISE: Look at this beautiful verse from Helen Steiner Rice and use it as a base to praise the Lord.

GOD * KNOWS * BEST!



Our Father knows what's best for us,
So why should we complain ...
We always want the sunshine,
But He knows there must be rain.

We love the sound of laughter
And the merriment of cheer;
But our hearts would lose their tenderness
If we never shed a tear.

Our Father tests us often
With suffering and with sorrow;
He tests us, not to punish us,
But to help us meet "tomorrow."

For growing trees are strengthened
When they withstand the storm;
And the sharp cut of the chisel
Gives the marble grace and form.

God never hurts us needlessly,
And He never wastes our pain;
For every loss He sends to us
Is followed by rich gain.

And when we count the blessings
That God has so freely sent;
We will find no cause for murmuring
And no time to lament.

For Our Father loves His children,
And to Him all things are plain;
So He never sends us "pleasure"
When the "soul's deep need is pain."

So whenever we are troubled,
And when everything goes wrong,
It is just God working in us
To make "our spirits strong."
~ Helen Steiner Rice ~
About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 31 DAYS OF CHRISTMAS THOUGHTS, PRAYERS AND PRAISE

  1. June OBrien says:

    John, thank you for this. June xx PSM 121

    Sent from my Windows Phone ________________________________

Leave a Reply

