31 DAYS OF CHRISTMAS THOUGHTS, PRAYERS AND PRAISE

CHRISTMAS PRESENCE

DAY 20

‘The Magi threw themselves down before him, worshiping. Then they opened their presents and gave him gold, frankincense and myrrh’. .

“And so this is Christmas and what have we done?” [John Lennon] The Magi travelled 8-900 miles to find the King of all kings. It took them up to two years to get to Bethlehem! Jesus was now a child and not a baby; living in a house and not laying in a manger in a stable! [Matthew 2:11 N.I.V.] And what was the first thing they did? They fell to the ground and worshipped Him! May I be bold enough to challenge us this morning! Have we found time to get in to His PRESENCE and worshipped Him first before anything else? I challenge myself too! I have found time, but was it worthy of the King of kings? This is no guilt trip I’m trying to put us on! If we start with being in the presence of Jesus then the rest of the day will be much more peaceful than if we forget Him!

Our pastor Jon Colyer has been speaking these last few weeks at gateway Christian centre on what he calls “presence evangelism!” It’s basically taking the presence of Jesus out in to the world with us after we have spent quality time in His presence! Folk should see the difference Christ has made in our lives, and Jon say’s the best way to draw the presence of our God in to our day is through WORSHIP! This is exactly what the wise men [magi] did! They threw themselves before Him, worshipped Him THEN THEY OPENED THEIR GIFTS!

Notice they worshipped before they did anything. I think that shows great wisdom. First spend time in His presence, being with Father/Creator God. After all we are first and foremost human BEINGS and not human DOINGS! The Westminster Shorter Catechism (1647) is an example:

Q. What is the chief end of man?

A. To glorify God and enjoy Him forever!

In plain English it means: The first and most important part of our lives is to honour God, to glorify and worship Him before all other things. It’s our first and last purpose for being here on earth! Everything else is secondary. It’s what we were created to do. And notice we are to enjoy Him! What happened to the enjoyment of God, you go in some Churches and they’re miserable. Jesus said “love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, mind and strength and love others as you would love yourself!” Notice the order of things! He also said “seek first the Kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these [secondary things] will be added to you”.  Daniel put it this way: but the people who know their God shall prove themselves strong and shall stand firm and do exploits [for God]. Dan 11:32] You can’t do great things for God until you have been strengthened by God and that won’t happen unless we spend good quality time in His presence worshipping Him and getting to know Him.

PRAYER ‘O come let us adore Him Christ the Lord’ ‘What can I bring Him poor as I am, If I were a shepherd I would bring a lamb, if I were a wise man I would do my part, yet what I can I give Him give my heart’ Lord Jesus Christ. You are my God and King. I come in to your PRESENCE and adore you; I worship before you for there is none like you. I have no lamb to bring you and I have no gold, frankincense or myrrh, but what I have I bring to you, I give you my heart this day. For your glory Jesus amen.

PRAISE

From heaven you came
Helpless babe
Entered our world
Your glory veiled
Not to be served
But to serve
And give Your life
That we might live

This is our God
The Servant King
He calls us now
To follow Him
To bring our lives
As a daily offering
Of worship to
The Servant King

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

