31 DAYS OF CHRISTMAS THOUGHTS, PRAYERS AND PRAISE

IT’S ALL ABOUT YOU

DAY 22

‘The Magi threw themselves down before him, worshiping. Then they opened their presents and gave him gold, frankincense and myrrh’. .

When the music fades
And all is stripped away
And I simply come
Longing just to bring
Something that’s of worth
That will bless your heart

I’ll bring You more than a song
For a song in itself
Is not what You have required
You search much deeper within
Through the ways things appear
You’re looking into my heart

I’m coming back to the heart of worship
And it’s all about You
All about You, Jesus
I’m sorry Lord for the thing I’ve made it
When it’s all about You
It’s all about You Jesus

Did you notice in the scripture above, it was all about Jesus! Not Jesus the man who taught and healed, nor the returning glorious King of Kings, but a child! These intellectual giants, these wise, rich, noble and learned men literally threw themselves down at the feet of a child! Why? Because they knew they were in the presence of God, and that’s what the presence of God does, it causes you to fall prostrate at His feet and worship Him. This is the heart of worship. Christ and nothing else. They didn’t need the top worship bands, or the Methodist hymn book nor anything else for that matter! They put their gifts to one side and just worshipped Jesus. Now this is not to say we can’t use guitars and projectors etc, but as Matt Redman correctly writes “And all is stripped away And I simply come” when there’s nothing but you and Jesus, no family around or friends, no music, no Church, just you and Jesus do you simply come, throw yourself at His feet and worship? There was probably a house full of people!? Family and friends and these respectable men cast aside all respectability and poured out their hearts to the Christ child.

The folk at the church I attend don’t generally worry about how each person worships! We’re not flaky or weird or cheesy and goofy, but we worship with a passion and we really don’t care what other folk think of us! King David was like that and he cast aside all respectability and worshipped God with a passion. His wife Michael despised him for it, but notice who got blessed and who ended up barren and fruitless, childless and bitter! Check it out! 2 Samuel 6:20-23.

PRAYER gracious Father in heaven, help us to come right back to the heart of worship this Christmastime. Help us to step to one side out of the mayhem and pandemonium of modern day Christmas’s. Help us not to be drawn by the pull of the world but to mindfully and purposefully lay aside the list of Christmas “to do’s” and simply worship you. To find time for thankfulness at this time for all the blessings we have in Christ. Thank you Lord amen.

PRAISE use the words above in your praise and worship time.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

