31 DAYS OF CHRISTMAS THOUGHTS, PRAYERS AND PRAISE

THE COST OF CHRISTMAS

How far would you go?

Day 23

‘The Magi threw themselves down before him, worshiping. Then they opened their presents and gave him gold, frankincense and myrrh’. .

I can’t leave this subject just yet, it has captivated me. Ok so picture this! On the night Christ was born a great light shone over the place he lay. This was His birth or natal star! Somehow 8-900 miles away in Chaldea [modern day Iraq/Iran] some magi or astrologers also saw this great light. They may have been from a generation of Jews who remained in Chaldea after the Babylonian exile, or they may have been converts to Judaism or godly men. However, they must have known the scriptures and related the prophesy of Isaiah to this light they now beheld!

Isaiah 9:2

New International Version (NIV)

The people walking in darkness have seen a great light; on those living in the land of deep darkness a light has dawned.

They knew this was a special birth and were inspired [I believe by God] to visit this special child and take gifts; again I believe the right ones inspired by God. They set off and according to Matthew’s account the journey took them up to about two years to get to Bethlehem. The star or great light was obviously still around for the magi to follow right up to a house where the child was living with Mary, Joseph and obviously relatives. How long they stayed is not clear, but it would not be for long, because Herod realised he’d been tricked and I don’t think it would’ve been long before he put two and two together, ascertained the whereabouts of the child and went after all of them and he would’ve killed the magi too such was his wickedness! Because of Herod the Magi were forced to return by a different route! Now this gets interesting, the route they came on would probably be from the east then though Jericho, over the Jordan river and North to Jerusalem then Bethlehem. This probably was the shortest route!? They probably would’ve taken a north and east route to avoid Herod’s soldiers on their return! This could’ve taken them an extra month or more than likely even more to get back to Chaldea! So, I’m guessing the round trip took them 4-5 years! Think about it cuz often we don’t! We just skim over these narratives and think ‘aww that’s a nice story!’ No, they took almost 5 years out of their lives for a few hours in the presence of God. It cost them in time, energy, finances and almost lost their lives! They probably had family whom they missed, but all that loss and cost is nothing compared to what they experienced! Imagine missing what they experienced for a bit of money and a lot of time!

So, how far am I willing to go this Christmas and new year for the presence of God? Makes you think doesn’t it!?

PRAYER heavenly Father God, I am so challenged by these 3 magi! Yes I understand that they were rich, but we’re all on a level playing field when it comes to time! They like us only had 24 hours in a day. Most of us including myself couldn’t sacrifice that much time, but perhaps we could take more time out for you than I/we do?! Help us Father, help me this Christmas time to find time for you to sit in your presence, to not skim over our time then rush away. In Jesus name. Amen.

PRAISE

To be in Your presence
To sit at Your feet,
Where Your love surrounds me,
And makes me complete.

This is my desire, O Lord,
This is my desire.
This is my desire, O Lord,
This is my desire.

To rest in Your presence,
Not rushing away;
To cherish each moment,
Here I would stay.  Noel Richards

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 31 DAYS OF CHRISTMAS THOUGHTS, PRAYERS AND PRAISE

  1. June OBrien says:

    Also, the shekinah (excuse spelling) light of God moved from east to west. Stars go from west to east….. (or it’s the other way round, I’m tired as I’m upset and not sleeping). Jx

    Sent from my Windows Phone ________________________________

Leave a Reply

