31 DAYS OF CHRISTMAS THOUGHTS, PRAYERS AND PRAISE

THE COST OF CHRISTMAS

WAS IT WORTH IT?

DAY 27

‘The Magi threw themselves down before him, worshiping. Then they opened their presents and gave him gold, frankincense and myrrh’. . [Matthew 2:11b]

Well, that’s it? It’s almost over for another 12 months! The question is “WAS IT ALL WORTH IT?” All the stress, the hassle, the cost, the credit repayments for the next 12 months to pay for something that lasted about 12 hours and which many will be recovering from physically over the next 7 days and financially over the next 12 months! I guess the same question could be asked of the Magi! ‘Was it all worth it?’ Was the 8-900 mile journey on Horse back or Camel with all the cost, time and discomfort of that journey worth it all? The time the whole return trip would cost? The great price the gifts cost the Magi? The 8-900 mile return journey and all for a few hours spent in the presence of a child? As Christians I hope that it was all worth it for me/us? Because we ought to celebrate Christmas differently from the world!

The reality of this Christmastime to me is not what I got out of it [albeit there were personal blessings and wonderful presents, thank you] but what I was able to give was so much more of worth, value and happiness; especially my many opportunities to sing carols and entertain folk, which in turn enabled me to spread some cheer, shine some light and shake out some salt! However, what I have received from Christ over the last 30 years and into eternity is incalculable, immeasurable, incomprehensible and un-repayable!! I personally think that what the Magi received was immeasurably and commensurately of far more worth and value than what they gave! How can you put a price on the miraculous star that guided them all those miles to the exact location of the child King? How do you put a price tag on the chance to look in to the eyes and face of God incarnate? What was the personal sacrifice of a few gifts given compared to worshipping the one who created the Gold, who planted the shrub that produces myrrh, and formed the plant that produces frankincense? No my friends, though the Magi were very rich in the world’s sense, they returned to Chaldea far more richer and wealthier than when they came. We cannot put a price tag on the gift of Christ our Saviour! We cannot leave Him under the Christmas tree, or discard Him with all the wrapping paper and boxes nor store Him in the loft for another 12 months! Let us worship and adore Him this 27th day of December, and over the next few days and New Years day and every day after for the whole of 2014

There is an advert in which it says ‘a dog is for life and not just for Christmas!’ I reverently take the word dog and change it around to spell God! God is for life and eternal life and not just for Christmas!’ Is that your testimony? It is mine! Jesus is regularly called “THE REASON FOR THE SEASON!” I say he is “THE REASON” period! Every SEASON, winter, spring, summer and autumn! Christmas, Lent, Easter or Whitsun [Pentecost], let us  open our gifts and treasures for Him and come-let us adore Him, Christ the Lord! [more of that tomorrow] have a happy and blessed 27th.

PRAYER AND PRAISE spend some time worshipping and praising God for His priceless gift to us. The cost of Christ’s-Mas for us was terrible for Him, but it is freely given to all. I praise and thank you my God and King.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

