31 DAYS OF CHRISTMAS THOUGHTS, PRAYERS AND PRAISE

THE COST OF CHRISTMAS

GOLD, FRANKINSENCE AND MYRRH

Day 29

Matthew 2:11

New Living Translation (NLT)

11 They entered the house and saw the child with his mother, Mary, and they bowed down and worshiped him. Then they opened their treasure chests and gave him gifts of  GOLD, FRANKINSENCE AND MYRRH.

GOLD: This was the currency of the day. It was what you bought and sold with, and what you wore or used for ornamentation. Nothing’s changed much! We may use paper money, but that’s based on the gold reserves. One of our acts of worship is giving and God loves a cheerful giver. Of course giving isn’t just money! It’s time, energy, resources, skills etc. But money’s a biggie and sometimes were afraid to let go in case we lose the security money gives, when in fact by letting go we receive more and greater security and freedom in God if the letting go is for the right reasons!

Ecclesiastes 11:1-6

Living Bible (TLB)

11 Give generously, for your gifts will return to you later. Divide your gifts among many,  for in the days ahead you yourself may need much help.

2 Corinthians 9:6-11

Generosity Encouraged

Remember this: Whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows generously will also reap generously. Each of you should give what you have decided in your heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver. And God is able to bless you abundantly, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work. As it is written:

“They have freely scattered their gifts to the poor; their righteousness endures forever.”

10 Now he who supplies seed to the sower and bread for food will also supply and increase your store of seed and will enlarge the harvest of your righteousness. 11 You will be enriched in every way so that you can be generous on every occasion, and through us your generosity will result in thanksgiving to God.

God doesn’t need our money, but the physical Kingdom and Church on earth does! The poor and the needy on earth do! So pray about your giving in the new year and let’s see if we can dig a bit deeper! We cannot out give God believe me I tried once! The wise come bearing their gifts to Christ, they bow down and worship Him. Am I wise?

PRAYER

Gracious Father in heaven. Though we still live in hard times, nevertheless your principles and laws remain firm and unshakable and the law of tithing does work, this I know very well. The law of sowing and reaping still works not only in my garden, but in my bank balance also, and the prayer of Jabez most sincerely works this I know also. So this coming new year help me to be even more generous in my giving, tithing and sowing. For Jesus and His name, amen.

PRAISE

I want to build with silver and gold in my generation I want to build with silver and gold while I am alive I want to give my life for something that will last forever Oh, I delight, I delight to do Your will

What is on Your heart? Tell me what to do Let me know Your will And I will follow You

Mark Altrogge

     
About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

