31 DAYS OF CHRISTMAS THOUGHTS, PRAYERS AND PRAISE

Day 30

Matthew 2:11

New Living Translation (NLT)

11 They entered the house and saw the child with his mother, Mary, and they bowed down and worshiped him. Then they opened their treasure chests and gave him gifts of  GOLD, FRANKINSENCE AND MYRRH.

FRANKINSENCE

Frankincense is tapped from the scraggly but hardy trees by slashing the bark, which is called striping, and allowing the exuded resin to bleed out and harden. These hardened resins are called tears. The aroma from these tears are more valuable for their presumed healing abilities and are also said to have superior qualities for religious ritual.

Frankincense and incense in the Bible generally refers to PRAYER and is a sweet rising aroma when burned! Our sincere prayers are a sweet offering to God. The burning of the incense can also refer very strongly to intercession! Note the description of the extraction process above! The bark is slashed, and the process is called STRIPING! Jesus was slashed when He was scourged and by His stripes we are healed! The resin is allowed to bleed. Jesus BLED  on the cross for the salvation of sinners. The resin is called TEARS. [JESUS WEPT FOR US]

Jesus lives forever to make intercession for us. Real prayer often incurs an agony of soul, physical discomfort, and tears. How is your praying going? Is it like mine quite selfish? I do pray for others, but may be this is going to have to be one of my new years resolutions.

PRAYER [whatever is on your heart]

PRAISE

From heaven You came, helpless babe Entered our world, Your glory veiled Not to be served but to serve And give Your life that we might live

This is our God, the Servant King He calls us now to follow Him To bring our lives as a daily offering Of worship to the Servant King

There in the garden of tears My heavy load He chose to bear His heart with sorrow was torn Yet not my will, but Yours he said

Come see His hands and his feet The scars that speak of sacrifice Hands that flung stars into space To cruel nails surrendered

So let us learn now to serve And in our lives enthrone Him Each other’s needs to prefer For it is Christ we’re serving

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

