THE DIARY OF A BLACK COUNTRY GARDENER [In Stratford Upon Avon]

IT’S SPRINGTIME, YAY! Yes, it’s spring at last, and what a lovely day it has been! I have been working on my spring beds front of house today, let’s take a look! DSC_0242      DSC_0241      white primulamauve primula     DSC_0244    heathers

I also prepared 3 rows for my early potatoes. [Rocket], I simply string a line where the rows are going, sprinkle grow more along the line, hoe in and rake flat! Make sure you put markers where the rows are going though! DSC_0249 As you can see there are three rows all ready to plant in 2 weeks time! The spuds have been in the airing cupboard and as you can see they are chitting [sprouting] very nicely! They will go back in the airing cupboard till I feel the weather’s suitable for planting.

Here’s a way to utilise unused space whilst waiting for a summer crop to go in.

DSC_0247

These are my runner bean [teepee]beds, all marked and ready, but not in use, so I have planted clumps of Chives to use the space till June! Then I’ll simply transplant them elsewhere as the are planted only on the surface. Makes sense!!

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

