I QUIT!!!!!

On the 24th of April 1980, at about 2.30pm I got off a bus in lower Penn Wolverhampton, I took my last packet of silk cut cigarettes with one cigarette in it and screwed it up saying to myself with every ounce of will power in my fibre that “I HAVE QUIT SMOKING!!!” I entered the clinic for my 3pm appointment for acupuncture. That was 34 years ago TODAY and I have not touched the dreaded leaf since.

I was 23, I had brown fingers, yellowish teeth and yellowish wrinkled eyes. I was always breathless, I smoked between 40 and 50 cigarettes a day and Lord knows how many at Christmas and on holidays! I was totally unfit and coughed up gunge every morning then went straight for another cancer stick as we called them! I was unfit, and every serious illness I have ever had was during the 10 year period in which I smoked! I suffered from serious pleurisy, twice I had severe glandular fever, I had numerous colds and flu, headaches and Lord knows what else.

Tobacco smoke contains over 4,000 different chemicals, at least 50 are known to be carcinogens (cause cancer in humans) and many are poisonous. I am 57 in June I have never felt better and apart from the occasional cold and a bit of hay fever, I feel great! I am fit, healthy and happy. I must have saved a fortune too as when I gave them up Silk cut was 50p for twenty! I guess they’re about £7.00 now?

So the word on the street from me is QUIT NOW AND LIVE TOMORROW! 

Oh and BTW, for you Christians out there who smoke…………………………………………………..

“JESUS BREAKS EVERY CHAIN!!!”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

