MICRO-LIGHT BYTES

 

REGENERATION

Yesterday I said I would look at Elijah being RECOMMISSIONED! But I feel constrained to look a little more in to the refreshing and regenerating process that Elijah experienced. “In biology, regeneration is the process of renewal and restoration of bodily functions!” It is basically the body fixing itself and it requires sleep, rest, relaxation, fun, healthy food and plenty of fresh water [and the decision not to feel guilty about it], I’m serious!!! During the day cells break down and die, our muscles and minds get fatigued and our bodies naturally repair any damage through sleep, leisure and R&R. However, most of us like Elijah don’t know when to say no and stop. I am so guilty of this. However, recently I realised that not only was my normal 6-7 hours of sleep not enough to fix me up, I could actually feel my body beginning to go into meltdown, plus I heard God telling me to stop! So, I did.

Hence, I feel very refreshed and regenerated. I thought as I watched Star trek Voyager the other night that if seven of nine needs to regenerate, then so do I! :-)) Elijah though a great prophet and on a roll, needed to stop and rest. Whether he was willing to or not, he was constrained to stop! The great man after all was still human, not superman! I feel so much better for my week off and catch up on sleep, rest and my fixing my own garden. Just the change of routine has been refreshing. The 1 hour journey each morning to Stratford Upon Avon, then at work 9-11 hours then drive back another hour 5-6 days a week began to take its toll.

If you listen very closely to music or read the music score you will notice stops, rests and pauses! Even long moments of silence! These STOPS, RESTS, PAUSES and SILENCES are as much a part of the music as the notes and sounds! If you did not have these then music would be just one loud meaningless cacophony of noise!! And so my life felt like a discordant grating and raucous row! I was reactive, over-reactive, irritable, moody and snappy. Is this ringing any bells out there with anyone? I am being honest and open so that if you relate to this then PLEASE STOP YOURSELF  before your body does!! We all listen to music pretty much non-stop as a nation, so isn’t it about time to switch off the music and listen to your body!!  A day or two off will make a difference. You are not indispensable and neither am I and neither was Elijah! As we shall see, this was one of his core problems, he thought it was all up to him and that there was no one else to do the job! But as we will see later, God had quite a surprise in store for His servant.

Heavenly Father God, thank you for this time of refreshing. Thank you that Jesus calls us to “come apart and rest” and I know that if I had not then I would more than likely have come apart! Thank you that like in music, there has to be times of rest, pauses, silence and stops! Thank you for constraining me to stop so that you could make my life a more harmonious tune. Amen

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

