31 DAYS OF CHRISTMAS THOUGHTS, PRAYERS AND PRAISE

DAY 1

A THOROUGH INVESTIGATION

Luke 2:16 ‘So they went with haste and by searching found Mary and Joseph and the baby lying in a manger’.

It’s not enough for us to go through the motions of Christmas without real thought for what it is really all about. We know the story off by heart, but the majority of un-churched folks these days don’t! Because we know it off by heart that can breed familiarity and stop us from re-visiting the story freshly every year! If it’s not fresh in our hearts then we’ll be giving the world stale bread and stagnant water!

The angels were very specific as to the details surrounding the birth of the Messiah, but the Shepherds wanted to verify the truth and so they made a thorough search and found it all to be as the angel’s had said! I find that amazing because I would expect an investigative reporter to be thorough, and of course detectives and scientists would be thorough too, but Shepherds!? They were the lowest of the low in Jesus’ day, but not only did the angels visit upon them this amazing news, but these un-schooled men thoroughly checked out the facts. The information was placed before them to do with as they chose! They chose wisely, how about us? We have more facts and truth at our disposal than they had or for all our previous generations! We are on technological and information overload, so what are we going to do with the simple gospel this year? We have more Bible versions and teaching aids than even Paul could’ve dreamed of! But one thing we don’t seem to have is time, or at least perhaps we don’t give ourselves time or choose to find the time to revisit the Christmas story afresh!? So, let’s make time this Christmas time to make a thorough search for Jesus.

I like the series of books by Lee Strobel! ‘The case for Christmas’ obviously comes to mind this time of year! He’s written the case for a creator, the case for Easter, the case for faith and the case for Christ as well as case for Christmas. He’s an investigative reporter and boy is he thorough when he’s searching out the facts! We may not have his ability to search so deeply, however, maybe this year we could dig just a little deeper than last year! Note what happened after the angel’s had returned to heaven! The Shepherds said, ‘let us go!’ They said ‘let us see!’ Then after the Shepherds went and had seen, they told others what they had found! Then they praised God! I think that’s a pretty good example to follow! Maybe we also can go to the narrative, see what it say’s then tell others what we have discovered and then praise God for His goodness! I’ll take one more look at this next time.

PRAYER Heavenly Father God. Thank you for this time of year when we remember the 1st advent of Christ. We know the reason for the season is not celebrated, as it should, but it’s no excuse for me/us your children, your followers to not make a thorough check again of the truth in the scriptures. So I pray help me dig a little deeper this year and find the real reason for the season. In Jesus’ name. Amen

PRAISE 

Praise my soul the King of heaven, to His feet my worship bring,                                         ransomed, healed, restored, forgiven from a thankful heart I sing                                   praise Him praise Him praise the everlasting King [italics mine],

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 31 DAYS OF CHRISTMAS THOUGHTS, PRAYERS AND PRAISE

  1. June OBrien says:

    At last!! Some of the advent stuff is soooo limp! Bless you John. Jx ________________________________

Leave a Reply

