31 DAYS OF CHRISTMAS THOUGHTS, PRAYERS AND PRAISE

Light Of The World Christmas PowerPoint Sermon Template

DAY 8

‘But in the latter time He will make it glorious, by the way of the sea of Galilee the land beyond the Jordan, Galilee of the nations. The people who walked in darkness have seen a great Light; those who dwelt in the land of intense darkness and the shadow of death, upon them has the Light shone’. [Isaiah 9:1-2]

I have noticed a few things about darkness! [1] It scares people! Isn’t it strange how that happens? I mean, there’s probably nothing in the dark to scare us, but our minds and imaginations play tricks upon us and we see or imagine things that are not there! [2] Most evil deeds are done in the dark so that the doers can’t be seen. You can hide things in the dark! [3] Most things won’t grow in the dark. I guess some fungi and some Lichen are exceptions and those strange creatures that live in the very depths of the ocean. But most things require photosynthesis and light to live and flourish! [4] Darkness has no power source! Have you ever heard anyone say, “Could you switch on the dark please?” No! The only power darkness has is when the light is switched off! Now that’s something to think about.

The Gentile nations of Isaiah’s day dwelt in deep darkness! They did not have the Revelation, Relationship and Reverence of God that the Jews had. You can almost feel God’s sadness over this that (1) the Gentile nations refused to worship Him, and (2) the people of God were pretty unwilling to witness to them of God’s love and grace, in fact they hated the Goyiim [non Jews]! [You only have to read the book of Jonah to see this!] However, God had a plan for the Gentiles as well as His people the Jews, and really nothings changed! He still loves His people the Jews and us Gentiles and He’s still reaching out to us all!

Part of this Prophesy was fulfilled at the time of the birth of Jesus! Whilst Mary gave birth to Jesus, some 8-900 miles away God sent a light to the Gentile nation of Chaldea [Babylon]. It was there that some astrologers [Magi] saw the light and followed it. We’ll look at this a bit more another time.

PRAYER Heavenly Father God. Thank you for this wonderful scripture that you care for and love all people, both Jew and Gentile! Thank you that you have shone your light in to the intense darkness of this world and brought us to your marvelous light. Thank you that Jesus was born in to the darkness of this world to shine your great light and thank you that you shone your glorious light in to the darkness of my heart. God I thank you and bless you. “LIGHT OF THE WORLD YOU STEPPED DOWN IN TO DARKNESS, OPENED MY EYES LET ME SEE. SO HERE I AM TO WORSHIP, HERE I AM TO BOW DOWN, AND HERE I AM TO SAY THAT YOU’RE MY GOD. I bless you and love you Father

PRAISE

TIM HUGHES

Light Of The World Lyrics

Light of the world You stepped down into darkness                                                            Opened my eyes, let me see                                                                                                        Beauty that made this heart adore You                                                                                      Hope of a life spent with You
Here I am to worship
Here I am to bow down
Here I am to say that You’re my God
You’re altogether lovely
Altogether worthy Altogether wonderful to me
King of all days Oh so highly exalted                                                                                          Glorious in Heaven above                                                                                                         Humbly You came to earth the earth You created                                                                        All for love’s sake became poor
I’ll never know how much it cost To see my sin upon that cross

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 31 DAYS OF CHRISTMAS THOUGHTS, PRAYERS AND PRAISE

  1. June OBrien says:

    Morning early bird, you’ve aced it again! ‘switch the darkness on’ is not something I’ve ever heard! And I love that praise song. Have a great day. Jx PSM 121 ________________________________

Leave a Reply

