31 DAYS OF CHRISTMAS THOUGHTS, PRAYERS AND PRAISE

jesus_second_coming

 ADVENT 2

DAY 14

‘Why do you stand here looking into the sky? This same Jesus who has been taken from you into heaven, will come back in the very same way you have seen Him go in to heaven.’  [Acts 1:11]

As we have seen, every prophecy regarding Christ’s first advent were fulfilled, and I believe most prophecies regarding His 2nd advent have likewise been fulfilled! Now this is too big a study to cover in one post, however, I would simply like to challenge us in the same way as the people of God in the first advent! Were they ready? Are we ready? Now, yesterday I posed a question, ‘does it really matter if we are ready or not?’ Now that was a rhetorical question not one of uncertainty on my part! But nevertheless a question that also expects an answer off us! The answer being of course, ‘yes we are expected to be ready for His return!’ Jesus has clearly taught us about the signs preceding His return! The parable of the 10 virgins teaches that the bridegroom will return and only half will be prepared. Now, though this parable is mainly to do with Israel, nevertheless, the principle is the same, and I think perhaps the percentage of Christians unprepared may be somewhat higher than 50%!

Okay then, if I’m not ready, then will I lose my salvation? Of course not! If you are truly born again, then you have been bonded to Christ [The Foundation] by the cement of the Holy Spirit! [Read 1 Corinthians 3:1-15] Christ The Foundation would have to be eternally destroyed for you to be likewise eternally destroyed! That is so never going to happen! However, verses 12-15 clearly teaches us that we personally and individually build upon the foundation, and the materials we use are of our choosing! If we live to serve ourselves, then the materials we build with are wood, straw and stubble; if however, we live to serve God, others and ourselves, then we build with gold, silver and precious jewels!

Now, both these sets of materials will have their value and motives tested by the Holy fire of God! The wood, straw and stubble of self-serving will be utterly burned up! You will enter the Kingdom as through fire but with no rewards and nothing to cast at Jesus’ feet in worship! In other words you will enter based on the foundation [Christ on whom you’ve built upon and which cannot be destroyed] but all you’ve built upon that foundation with in life that’s totally self-serving will have been utterly empty and will be destroyed! Those who seek to put God and others before self will have their gold, silver and jewels purified even more through the fire so that they become even more valuable! They have the foundation and their eternal reward intact! Of course, the question now is ‘which one am I?’ ‘And where am I in the scheme of things?’ Well, that’s a question that you and I need to ask of the Lord as we end one year and enter in to a new year!

Now, that’s only one aspect of being prepared for His second advent! There’s watching and praying! There’s purity of life so that we are not ashamed at His return. There’s evangelism and social justice and personal and national and I guess world revival also! May be this year we ought to go back and study end-time events again! What say you?

So then, may I suggest that now, tonight and tomorrow, we make that our prayer and commit this year coming to God as one where we seek first the Kingdom of God and His righteousness [so that] all these other things will be added unto us]

PRAYER Whatever is on your heart!

PRAISE

But, Lord, ‘tis for Thee, for Thy coming we wait, The sky, not the grave, is our goal;          Oh trump of the angel! Oh voice of the Lord! Blessèd hope, blessèd rest of my soul!

It is well, with my soul,
It is well, it is well, with my soul

And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight, The clouds be rolled back as a scroll; The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend, Even so, it is well with my soul.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 31 DAYS OF CHRISTMAS THOUGHTS, PRAYERS AND PRAISE

  1. June OBrien says:

    Morning John, two deep and well presented reflections, thank you. Jx ________________________________

    • wonderboy57 says:

      Thanks June, great encouragement to me. I will keep writing as best I can in in my busy life. I hope you and the family had a great Christmas? We all had a fab time. Every blessing. Johnx

Leave a Reply

