31 DAYS OF CHRISTMAS THOUGHTS, PRAYERS AND PRAISE

HAPPY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE

jesus_second_coming

 ADVENT 2

DAY 15                                                   “AS IT WAS”

Matthew 24:37-44

The Message (MSG)

37-39 “The Arrival of the Son of Man will take place in times like Noah’s. Before the great flood everyone was carrying on as usual, having a good time right up to the day Noah boarded the ark. They knew nothing—until the flood hit and swept everything away.

I had planned that yesterday’s post was the last one on advent and the second coming of Christ, however, Holy Spirit has other plans and so there’ll be a couple more, then I’ll pick the theme up in the New Year.

I know this is a Christmas study and we would like everything nice and sweet, but truth, sometimes comes in a very bitter pill. The Bible has given us endless clues as to how we may know we are getting closer to the 2nd advent of Christ! The verse above simply say’s one thing to me: “business as usual!” The folk were going along on their merry way as though life’s gonna go on like it was indefinitely! I knew in my heart that a crash was imminent in 07/08! The year before, the Lord lead me to the patriarch Joseph again and I followed as best I could his example! My business flourished in 05/06 but instead of going crazy and spending without thinking, I followed the advise of Joseph, putting aside 15% when I could for the lean times that I knew were coming! In addition to that a study I did in the book of proverbs which teaches much on prudence confirmed what I already knew! I was ready when the storm hit! I had built on a foundation of rock and not sinking sand! God’s word not the world’s!

I was hit by the same storm, but my foundation held because it was Bible based. I was ready for the deluge, I had prepared just as Noah prepared. What he was doing looked crazy, but it saved himself and his family and the animals needed to repopulate the earth! Whilst folk were spending hard, I was saving hard. There is another storm coming and I wonder if we are aware of it let alone prepared? There is a time of great tribulation coming upon the earth! The bible likens the build up to it as to labour pains! From experience of seeing my son born I know the pains come sporadically then more intensely and more frequently. I liken it to the river heading toward a great waterfall, the water gets more turbulent, disturbed, faster and very rough! The natural events of the past few years are pointers to an even greater storm on the horizon, both natural and supernatural. Cataclysmic events are coming upon us. I hope I am ready? I hope you are too?

PRAYER Gracious loving and merciful God. We don’t gloat over what has come upon the earth or is about to come, we pray and seek your heart to know how we can effectively reach out to a generation that’s blindly taking a course that’s heading for disaster as did the folk in Noah’s day. Please give us wisdom and skills to reach out and the wisdom to know how to do it effectively! Helps us this Christmas to make a difference it could easily be our last one just as in the day of Noah, the majority of folk woke up to their last day on earth.

PRAISE

When peace, like a river, attendeth my way, When sorrows like sea billows roll; Whatever my lot, Thou has taught me to say, It is well, it is well, with my soul.

It is well, with my soul, It is well, with my soul, It is well, it is well, with my soul.

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come, Let this blest assurance control, That Christ has regarded my helpless estate, And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought! My sin, not in part but the whole, Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more, Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

For me, be it Christ, be it Christ hence to live: If Jordan above me shall roll, No pang shall be mine, for in death as in life Thou wilt whisper Thy peace to my soul.

But, Lord, ‘tis for Thee, for Thy coming we wait, The sky, not the grave, is our goal; Oh trump of the angel! Oh voice of the Lord! Blessèd hope, blessèd rest of my soul!

And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight, The clouds be rolled back as a scroll; The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend, Even so, it is well with my soul.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 31 DAYS OF CHRISTMAS THOUGHTS, PRAYERS AND PRAISE

  1. June OBrien says:

    John, you have no idea how much I needed this today. Thank you for being open and obedient to the Holy Spirit. Never stop writing, never stop sharing. Bless you and yours today and always, June x ________________________________

Leave a Reply

