FOR THIS PURPOSE

 

They reckon that the mammal with the most reason to live is a Dolphin! Why? Because it has a porpoise in life! Humour aside, I want to revisit the study of purpose as this new year begins! I believe every Christian has a God-given purpose, so let’s see what the Bible says!

Ephesians 2:8-10Amplified Bible (AMP)

For it is by free grace (God’s unmerited favor) that you are saved (delivered from judgment and made partakers of Christ’s salvation) through [your] faith. And this [salvation] is not of yourselves [of your own doing, it came not through your own striving], but it is the gift of God;

Not because of works [not the fulfillment of the Law’s demands], lest any man should boast. [It is not the result of what anyone can possibly do, so no one can pride himself in it or take glory to himself.]

10 For we are God’s [own] handiwork (His workmanship), recreated in Christ Jesus, [born anew] that we may do those good works which God predestined (planned beforehand) for us [taking paths which He prepared ahead of time], that we should walk in them [living the good life which He prearranged and made ready for us to live].

As you read verse 8-9 you realise that we are saved by God’s grace and love, we are partakers in His salvation through our faith in Him, not by any works or inherent goodness in us. However, verse 10 is part of 8 & 9 and shows us that though we are not saved by good works, nevertheless we are saved to do good works! We are partakers not only in Christ’s salvation, but also in His servant-hood. His salvation is a gift freely given to us through his love and grace, but He has also gifted us with ability to reach out and do good to others through that same grace and faith.

PRAYER

Gracious, merciful and loving Lord. I thank you for saving me, thank you for the promise of eternal life in and through Christ Jesus. But I also thank you that it doesn’t stop there as a free ride to heaven and eternity. Thank you that my life now has signification, meaning, reason and PURPOSE. Help me to continue to discover, develop and deploy your purposes in my life, just as Christ fulfilled your divine purposes for His life. Amen

PRAISE

For this purpose Christ was revealed
To destroy all the works
Of the Evil One
Christ in us has overcome
So with gladness we sing
And welcome His kingdom in

Over sin He has conquered
Hallelujah, He has conquered
Over death victorious
Hallelujah, victorious
Over sickness He has triumphed
Hallelujah, He has triumphed
Jesus reigns over all!

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FOR THIS PURPOSE

  1. June OBrien says:

    Love that fabulous worship song as well as your superb reflection John, thank you, jx ________________________________

Leave a Reply

