FOR THIS PURPOSE

 

Ephesians 2:10Easy-to-Read Version (ERV)

10 God has made us what we are. In Christ Jesus, God made us new people so that we would spend our lives doing the good things he had already planned [purposed] for us to do.

Following yesterdays post, the 2nd point is this:

2.  In Christ Jesus, God has made us new people so that [for this reason/purpose] So, God has refashioned us or orchestrated us like a sweet symphony or poem!  However todays point clearly teaches that it’s through or IN Christ! Before the 18th June 1983 I was still a vicious, angry angst-full God rejecter! Then on that Sunday night at what is now called Dudley Community Church, I surrendered my heart to God, Jesus came in to my heart by His Holy Spirit in what the Bible calls the new birth!

I was born spiritually dead to God because of sin [Ephesians 2:1-3] but on that wonderful night I was born anew and became alive to God through Christ by Holy Spirit. I was changed straight away, I could tell from an inner witness and warmth. I wasn’t perfect and now nearly 32 yrs on I still aren’t [except positionally in Christ in heavenly places] Ephesians 2:6. I tried over and over to be a better and nicer person, but in the wrong place at the wrong time in the wrong mood I would explode in violence! I could not change through will power, mind over matter, yoga or meditation, nor anything for that matter, believe me I tried on endless occasions. Yet in an instant when I bowed the knee to Jesus Christ He began a good work within my spirit that He continues from one degree of glory to another till completion day when I stand before Him face to face in eternity.

SO IT IS GOD WHO MAKES US NEW PEOPLE! He recreates us, refashions us, renews our minds and makes our spirit come alive! Why does He do this? Well, obviously out of love for us and because He is merciful, gracious and kind; but also “so that” that’s where our purpose comes in. We’ll look at that next time.

PRAYER  Heavenly Father God. I thank you from deep within my heart that you came in to my life all those years ago. Thank you that it was because you loved me so much that you gave your only Son so that as I believed in Him I received eternal life. But also thank you for giving me purpose and destiny in the here and now as well as the there and then. For all those purposes I have fulfilled so far I thank you. For those I am presently involved in I thank you, and for those ahead I thank you. And ultimately I thank you for my eternal destiny. To be with you always and forever.

PRAISE

Only by grace can we enter
Only by grace can we stand
Not by our human endeavour
But by the blood of the Lamb

Into Your presence You call us
You call us to come
Into Your presence You draw us
And now by Your grace we come
Now by Your grace we come

Lord, if You marked our transgressions
Who would stand
Thanks to Your grace we are cleansed
by the blood of the Lamb
Lord, if You marked our transgressions
Who would stand
Thanks to Your grace we are cleansed
by the blood of the Lamb  [by Brian Doerksen]

 

 

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to FOR THIS PURPOSE

  1. June OBrien says:

    Superb John, simply superb. Only by grace. It certainly is. Jx ________________________________

Leave a Reply

