Acts 13:36 New English Translation (NET Bible)

For David, after he had served God’s purpose in his own generation, died, was buried with his ancestors

What an amazing epitaph for David. Despite his blundering bloopers, massive mistakes, floundering failures and great gaffes, he nevertheless served God’s purposes for his generation. He pursued God’s purposes and plowed on with perseverance despite the handicaps, hiccups and obstacles along the way. Most of David’s errors were self-inflicted, yet despite them God persevered with David and David persevered with God, and BAM what a testimony!

One of my favourite films is Star trek Generations in which Kirk and Picard work together to overcome and defeat the evil Doctor Tolian Soran. Picard sought out help from Kirk, but Kirk said ‘I’ve done my bit for the Federation I owe them nothing!’ But Picard persists and urges Kirk to come and help him make a difference! Together, 2 generations defeat evil, but in the process Kirk dies. But in his dying breath he asks, ‘did we do it, did we make a difference?’ And Picard replies ‘oh yes we made a difference!’

It closes with Picard on a mountain top with a pile of stones erected as the final resting place of the great captain James T Kirk who became significant not only in life but also in death. There was no epitaph for Kirk, so here’s mine for him:-

CAPTAIN JAMES T KIRK SERVED THE PURPOSES OF THE FEDERATION FOR HIS OWN AND THE NEXT GENERATION THEN DIED.

So what will yours say? I hope mine will say something similar as I serve God’s purposes for my generation and the youth I endeavour to help and encourage. A bit more of this next time. In the meantime here’s the epitaph I would one day like to have:-

‘JOHN SERVED THE PURPOSES OF GOD FOR HIS OWN AND THE NEXT GENERATION THEN WAS NO MORE’

PRAYER as you are inspired.

PRAISE

Mark Altrogge

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. June OBrien says:

    …and John was no more because he was walking with the Lord late into the evening and as the sun was setting the Lord said ‘John, we’re nearer to my house than yours, come and stay’. It’ll probably say on my epitaph ‘she tried’. Jx PSM 121 ________________________________

Leave a Reply

