STATE YOUR PURPOSE

 

FOCUSED PURPOSE

Last time I spoke a little on the Star trek Generations film and I include a little more today. It made such an impact on my life and got me to a point of ‘FOCUSED PURPOSE’ but more on that next time.

It’s not enough to know we have a purpose, we have to focus it and focus on it! Before I focused and honed my purpose I did loads of STUFF! I thought it was so good and to a degree it was, but it wasn’t the best and definitely not God’s best for me! My diary was always full of booking dates and activities, but when burn out set in the Holy Spirit took me aside and showed me what was happening. He showed me that I was very busy doing lots of nothing! Strangely, it was through the film Star Trek Generations and one phrase spoken by the dying captain Kirk, “did we do it, did we make a difference?”  that made the difference for me! Bam, that so hit home, because when I analysed all the STUFF I was doing, it was just empty activity that looked really good, but to be honest I did much of it just to look good, but I wasn’t making a difference through it! Honest yes, painful yes, but true nonetheless!

In my quiet times Holy Spirit showed me another analogy to help me understand focus. He said ‘which is most effective; a blast from a shot-gun at a target 100 yards away or an SLR [Self Loading Rifle I used to shoot in the T.A?’] The chances of one of a hundred buck shot hitting target are very slim indeed, but the focused single shot from the SLR can hit bulls eye with a little bit of skill. This is what Holy Spirit taught me, I needed to find, focus and hone in upon my personal and specific purpose and drop all the other STUFF! To stop trying to be like this evangelist, or that preacher or teacher, and to just be myself, then discover my purpose gifting’s and skills and focus laser-like on them which I now have done, then if OTHER distractions come in, like Nehemiah I say to them: ‘I cannot stop, I am doing a good work’ then I kick the distractions in to touch!’

Defused light has limited impact, but when it is focused like a laser it can cut through steel! So, like me you have to become selective and learn to say a resounding no to certain stuff. I’ve Discovered and Determined, Developed and Dispatched that which I have identified as my strengths and weaknesses and focused on just my strengths, I have identified what my main [effective] gifting’s are and I focus on them and scrap the red herrings! If you want your life to have an impact, if like Kirk you want to make a difference and be significant, and have a meaningful life, then don’t [like me] confuse lots of activity with productivity! I was actively doing little except setting myself up for burn out! Now I am productively doing purpose activities with no burn out and tunz of satisfaction and rewards. So, go do some self pruning, focus on your purpose and together we’ll make a difference.

PRAYER: God my heavenly Father, help me like Paul to determine to forget what is behind and press on toward the finish line of the goal of my high calling in Jesus Christ, Amen.

PRAISE:

Make me a channel of your peace
Where there’s despair in life, let me bring
hope
Where there is darkness, only light
And where there’s sadness, ever joy.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to STATE YOUR PURPOSE

  1. June OBrien says:

    Superb John. Thank you for the focus, I’m really really doing too much STUFF. Jx PSM 121 ________________________________

Leave a Reply

