SOUL FOOD

Hi, I know, I haven’t published anything for a while. Busy busy! So, reading word for today this morning and I just had to share this, it’s very interesting.

Failure To Thrive

WORD FOR TODAY

Psychologists have begun to speak of what is perhaps today’s largest mental health problem. And it’s a rapidly growing problem. They call it ‘FTT’, which means ‘failure to thrive’. When you have it, you’re still able to function, but you’ve lost your sense of hope and meaning. FTT isn’t the presence of mental illness; it’s the absence of mental, spiritual and emotional vitality. In ancient lists of deadly sins it was called ‘acedia’, which means ‘weariness of soul and inability to delight in life’. It’s why Jesus looked at a crowd of people with dead marriages, dead-end jobs, and a feeling of inner deadness, and said, ‘I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full’ (John 10:10 NIV). In a vision, Ezekiel saw a valley full of dead bones. It was FTT in its final form. God asked him, ‘Can these bones live?’ He replied, ‘…You alone know’ (Ezekiel 37:3 NIV). God did know, and He made them come alive. And He can cause you to live again, and to thrive. The Talmud says that every blade of grass has an angel bending over it whispering, ‘Grow, grow.’ Paul said that in Christ the whole redeemed company ‘…grows and builds itself up in love…’ (Ephesians 4:16 NIV). But it’s not just about you. God wants you to flourish so that people can be encouraged, gardens can be planted, music can be written, sick people can be helped, or companies can thrive in ways they otherwise would not. So let’s stop and propose a toast: ‘Here’s to the person God designed, desired, and has determined you will become!’ [Bob Gass]

So I was praying and meditating upon this theme to see how it’s applicable to me! Our physical bodies require food, but so too does our soul! Our souls are living. I personally believe the soul is where the body and spirit touch! Adam was a lump of clay until God breathed in to him then the Bible say’s he became a living soul. But the soul is not totally spirit so it also gets weary as our physical bodies do! We know this because David stated that ‘God restores my soul’ Psalm 23  if a soul needs to be restored then it must get un-stored [depleted] and therefore requires to be STORED [topped up] RE [again].

So how do we get topped up? What does it require from us? How does all of this apply. Well, you’ll have to come back tomorrow cuz I need to get ready for my next task. Be seeing you. 🙂

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SOUL FOOD

  1. June OBrien says:

    You are so good at knowing when I need picking up from the ground! The greatest brother anyone could be graced with, John Wunderlich 😊 Jx PSM 121 ________________________________

Leave a Reply

