SOUL FOOD

So let’s continue to look at food for our souls. We know from the Bible and experience that we get weary of soul. David expressed this in many psalms:

Psalm 42

1 As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, my God.
My soul thirsts for God, for the living God.
Why, my soul, are you downcast?
    Why so disturbed within me?
Put your hope in God,
    for I will yet praise him,
    my Saviour and my God.

My soul is downcast within me;
    therefore I will remember you

So how do we feed the soul? This is my take on it. Isaiah 55

“Is anyone thirsty?
    Come and drink—
    even if you have no money!
Come, take your choice of wine or milk—
    it’s all free!
Why spend your money on food that does not give you strength?
    Why pay for food that does you no good? LISTEN TO ME
and you will eat what is good.
    You will enjoy the finest food.

“COME TO ME WITH YOUR EARS OPEN, LISTEN  and you will find life. 

6 SEEK THE LORD while you can find him.
    CALL ON HIM now while he is near.
Let the wicked change their ways
    and banish the very thought of doing wrong.
Let them turn to the Lord that he may have mercy on them.
    Yes, turn to our God, for he will forgive generously.

Notice the Lord is offering food and drink that isn’t natural or physical, but which is supernatural, spiritual not of the physical realm! Note also how this supernatural food is eaten! It is taken in through the EARS, EYES and SPOKEN OUT through prayer! LISTEN, EARS OPEN, SEEK, CALL [pray]! Physical food is consumed through the mouth, spiritual [soul] food is consumed predominantly through our ears! All that we hear feeds our souls just as all that we eat feeds our bodies; however, if we just ate junk food all the time we may get full, but never physically fulfilled! We require a balanced diet of fresh fruit, vegetables, proteins, carbs, and vitamins to be really healthy. And though our souls may feed on all that it hears, nevertheless all that it hears is not healthy, fulfilling and apt to help the soul thrive, in fact it can cause the soul to whither! Constant use of face book, the internet, the current topics or gossip, news and recent best sellers, TV will not fulfil us spiritually, they may fill us up but that’s not being fulfilled!  The soul’s true food and that which fills and fulfils our soul is the word of God! Jesus said ‘Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word of God.’  Luke 4:4

So, it seems pretty obvious to me that if I want to thrive I need to feed my soul on healthy soul food. I also need to spend time with the Lord, seeking Him and calling upon His name through prayer. I accomplish this through my daily devotions which can be long or short depending on time, BUT by hook or by crook I make time for the Lord because if I don’t then I’m only feeding on the scraps the world throws at me and that does not satisfy! So I make time, it’s necessary and it’s wonderful too. It’s the same satisfaction of eating a good healthy meal, but exponentially more satisfying. Tomorrow I’ll look at how I do this and may be you can try something similar. God bless John 🙂

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SOUL FOOD

  1. June OBrien says:

    Love this John, jx PSM 121 ________________________________

Leave a Reply

