THE BEST IS YET TO COME

SOW WHAT?

I love the song by Sting ‘fields of gold’, but wouldn’t it be wonderful to know that our hearts were fields of gold because we had sown to the Spirit and not to the flesh! Listen to these verses and ponder them long and hard as I’ve done today.

Galatians 6:8

New Living Translation
Those who live only to satisfy their own sinful nature will harvest decay and death from that sinful nature. But those who live to please the Spirit will harvest everlasting life from the Spirit.

GOD’S WORD® Translation
If you plant in [the soil of] your corrupt nature, you will harvest destruction. But if you plant in [the soil of] your spiritual nature, you will harvest everlasting life.

Weymouth New Testament
He who sows in the field of his lower nature, will from that nature reap destruction; but he who sows to serve the Spirit will from the Spirit reap the Life of the Ages.

THERE’S A PRINCIPLE [a natural law] IN NATURE THAT YOU CANNOT CHANGE AND IT WORKS IN THE SPIRITUAL REALMS TOO! ‘You will reap what you sow!’

World English Bible
He who sows wickedness reaps trouble [Proverbs 22:8]

GOD’S WORD® Translation
Make no mistake about this: You can never make a fool out of God. Whatever you plant is what you’ll harvest. [Galatians 6:7]

World English Bible
Don’t be deceived. God is not mocked, for whatever a man sows, that he will also reap

Here are a few thoughts from the expositors Greek Testament. Please note, the words in [italics and parenthesis] are mine! “Every action produces an effect on the character of the actor, [the doer or sower of an action], corresponding exactly to its motive as the fruit of the seed. [That is, if your motive is carnal then the fruit of the sown action or the consequences of it will be carnal, dead works, both empty and vain.] If it springs forth from selfish desires, it stimulates [and activates] the growth of evil lusts and issues [that is it produces, reaps or brings forth] a harvest of inward corruption!

If, however, on the contrary it is done [the action, deed or sown seed] in obedience [that is to please, serve and live for] the Spirit, it quickens spiritual growth and issues [produces, reaps and brings forth] a harvest of eternal life. The heart of the person resembles a field in which he sows by the mere [or sheer] exercise of the will, a future harvest of good or evil!”

To apply this will need a few more posts! However, here’s a thought:

Two Dogs Fighting

Chinese Christian Watchman Nee once wrote, “Being a Christian is like having two dogs fighting inside you.” When asked which one wins, he replied, “The one I feed the most.”

So, am I feeding the carnal , fleshy nature the most, or the eternal, spiritual nature the most? More of that next time.

PRAYER

Heavenly Father God, this has been much on my mind, “why if I have the fullness of the Spirit in me as Christ said I would, how is it I am not living and walking and talking like that’s the case?” I know the answer for myself, I have to live more and feed more to the Spirit and not the flesh! Easily done? No! But not impossible with your help Lord Jesus, so I ask for your help God. Amen.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

