THE BEST IS YET TO COME

NEVERTHELESS, ‘GOD’

American King James Version Luke 5:5
And Simon answering said to him, Master, we have toiled all the night, and have taken nothing: nevertheless at your word I will let down the net.

Sometimes in life we need the “NEVERTHELESS GOD”, moments! You work hard and diligently, throwing heart, soul, mind and body in to what you do, doing your very best in very trying and tiresome circumstances, only to hear ‘your services are no longer required!’ Well, at those times we can choose either to capitulate or say ‘NEVERTHELESS GOD!’

Simon Peter was a fisherman, an expert in his field, he relied daily upon a good catch to keep the business going, but this night he caught zilch! Jesus asked to lend his boat so He could teach the crowd, Peter let Him. Afterwards Jesus told Peter to put out the boat to fish. Peter replied they’d fished all night and caught nothing, nevertheless he launched out on the word of Jesus and was rewarded with a great catch.

I was informed on Friday that I had a months work left then I was being replaced by contractors! After 5 1/4 years, I am losing 3 days of work per week! So, do I capitulate or say ‘NEVERTHELESS GOD?’ Obviously I shall say ‘nevertheless God!’

Though I may walk through a dark valley, nevertheless, God is with me!

Though the locust seeks to devour my [crop] nevertheless, God shall restore what the devourer has taken.

Though dark days may be ahead, nevertheless God is my light and my salvation.

But now, this is what the Lord says—he who created you, [John] He who formed you, “Do not fear, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are mine. When you pass through the waters, [NEVERTHELESS] I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, [NEVERTHELESS] they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, [NEVERTHELESS] you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze. Isaiah 43:1,2

I want to take this opportunity to give praise and thanks to my wonderful heavenly Father, my awesome Redeemer Jesus Christ, and my closest most valued advisor, counsellor, companion and friend the Holy Spirit for five and a quarter years work which originally should have only been 2 weeks of trouble shooting to get the gardens ready for a new gardener! His CRB check failed and I got the position!

Recently, I sensed Holy Spirit quickening my spirit to be ready for change and I sensed my work may be coming to an end! I asked the Lord if I should leave the Bentley where I worked and He said ‘stay put till the brook Cherith dries up!’ That was about a couple of months ago and now Cherith is drying up!

So, am I worried, panicking, anxious and fretting? No!!! I think I’m more curious, especially as the Lord has been reminding me of my calling verses recently. This is just one of many changes that have and will be occurring in my life recently, so I am looking forward to doors closing and new ones opening! I am reminded of the scripture,

New Living Translation
Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:6-7

PRAYER: And so my loving Father in heaven, I choose not to worry, panic or fret, but I choose to pray about every little thing. You know what I need and I have laid these things before you and I will continue to do so. I give you thanks for the last 5 years of work and the work and ministry to come in the weeks, months and years ahead. I choose to embrace change and not to fret or flee from it. I give you thanks especially for the deep unfathomable peace I find in relying upon and totally trusting in you. Your peace is guarding my heart and mind and your word is guiding my life. I thank you Lord Jesus and I choose to abide in you and in your word. Thank you. Amen.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

