A CHRISTMAS PURPOSE [the reason for the season]

So begins throughout December our look at some of the purposes behind the birth of Jesus Christ the Son of God.

Luke 2:14 New International Version
“Glory to God in the highest heaven, and on earth peace to those on whom his favour rests.”

So here we see two [of many] outcomes of the incarnation

  1. “GLORY TO GOD” IN THE HIGHEST HEAVEN
  2. AND ON THE EARTH “PEACE” TO THOSE ON WHOM HIS FAVOUR [GOODWILL OR GRACE] RESTS UPON!

Let’s start with peace because the first thing I hear people say is “peace, what peace?”

John 14:27 New King James Version (NKJV)

27 Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.

John 14:27Living Bible (TLB)

27 “I am leaving you with a gift—peace of mind and heart! And the peace I give isn’t fragile like the peace the world gives. So don’t be troubled or afraid.

Notice the kind of peace Jesus gives and leaves us! not as the world gives!” It’s not the  same peace that the world gives or what is called “WORLD PEACE!” That peace is fallible, unreliable, unstable and totally untrustworthy. Check your history and a British prime minister named Neville Chamberlain who returned from Hitler’s Germany in 1939 all smiles and holding a piece of paper and confidently declaring “peace in our times!” Later to discover that Germany were arming to the teeth and getting ready to invade Czechoslovakia, Austria and Poland and ultimately thrust the globe into a “second world war!”.

No, the peace that Jesus leaves is an “INNER PEACE” [of the heart and the mind] What I call “A SOUL PEACE” in the midst of turmoil, trouble, heartache and pain. He doesn’t remove the storms of life, He’s right at the centre of them waiting for us to join him, trust Him, to cast our cares and burdens upon Him! You need only find Him, abide in Him and that peace is yours! More of that next time but for now meditate upon these beautiful lyrics.

Gaelic Blessing (Deep Peace) Lyric

Deep peace of the running wave to you
Deep peace of the flowing air to you
Deep peace of the quiet earth to you
Deep peace of the shining stars to you
Deep peace of the gentle night to you
Moon and stars pour their healing light on you
Deep peace of Christ the light of the world to you
Deep peace of Christ to you. [LIBERA]

PRAYER. Abba Father. Your word says in Isaiah 6:9 For a child is born to us, a son is given to us. The government will rest on his shoulders. And he will be called: Wonderful Counsellor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace. Thank you for the inner peace Jesus gives to us. What a precious gift, freely given if only we would reach out and receive it. Father God as the world reaches for a fragile peace this Christmas time, I chose to find the centre rest at the heart of the storm, Christ, the eye of peace at the centre of the storm. Amen.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

