A CHRISTMAS PURPOSE [the reason for the season]

We continue throughout December to look at some of the purposes behind the birth of Jesus Christ the Son of God.

Luke 2:14 New International Version
“Glory to God in the highest heaven, and on earth peace to those on whom his favour rests.”

We’ll take one more look at “peace on earth!”

  1. “GLORY TO GOD” IN THE HIGHEST HEAVEN
  2. AND ON THE EARTH “PEACE” TO THOSE ON WHOM HIS FAVOUR [GOODWILL OR GRACE] RESTS UPON!

So, we know now that the peace Jesus brings is inner not outer peace, however having said that, when we have inner peace with Christ, that’ll give us outer poise in even the worst storms as long as we abide, remain or stay in Him. The storms of this world system come in all forms. ILL HEALTH, DIVORCE, CHRISTMAS MADNESS AND EXPENCE, DEBT, REDUNDANCY, RELATIONSHIP PROBLEMS, TERRORISM AND THE FEAR IT BRINGS, DEATH AND BEREAVEMENT, HOPELESSNESS, HOMELESSNESS, DEPRESSION, CONFUSSION AND EMPTINESS! You could put your own thoughts in this. However, in every storm or hurricane there’s a centre of stillness and peace. We just have to get in to it. But how?

Simple really, we choose to. “You will keep in perfect peace all who trust in you, all whose thoughts are fixed on you!” Isaiah 26:3 New Living Translation. So, what are your thoughts fixed on today? The problem or the Solution to it? [GOD]! The mountain or the mountain mover? The hurricane of problems or the Prince of peace smack bang in the centre of them all!? It’s your choice really; get caught up in the middle of the mayhem, or get caught up in the arms of Abba Father God.

I spoke to my mountain [Goliath this morning] and now I am resting/reclining/ staying plugged in to Christ my God and trusting Him to deal with the problem. Oh and for those of us who think “well it’s my problem, I got myself in to this and so I’ll have to get myself out of it!” Well again, it’s your choice. You can either carry your own cares and burdens or cast them all upon Him because He really truly and dearly cares for you. I know what I choose.

Silent night, holy night!
All is calm, all is bright
Round yon virgin, mother and child
Holy infant so tender and mild,
Sleep in heavenly peace,
Sleep in heavenly peace

PRAYER

Abba, Father. I am sure that first Christmas night wasn’t silent, calm or bright. It was mayhem, folk rushing here and there, clanging and clamour. Hustle and bustle, just like the shopping malls, homes and streets this Christmas. But in that dark, damp and dirty cave where the prince of peace lay, there was peace, hope, love and total trust in a trustworthy God. So, this Christmastime, despite sickness and lack of work, I CHOOSE TO STAY PLUGGED IN AND SWITCHED ON TO YOU GOD, JESUS, MY PRINCE OF PEACE AND I CHOOSE TO YOUR PERFECT PEACE. Amen.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A CHRISTMAS PURPOSE [the reason for the season]

  1. June OBrien says:

    Just what I need to hear today John, spot on! Bless you, jx ________________________________

Leave a Reply

