A CHRISTMAS PURPOSE [the reason for the season]

“and which now at his appointed season he has brought to light”  Titus 1:3 New International Version

Most other versions use “word” instead of light”. However they are both synonymous of revelation! Light reveals! God’s word reveals! What we celebrate at this season we call Christmas reflects God’s sending His only begotten Son into this dark world to save the world and bring light into their darkness. John’s gospel say’s of Jesus [Jesus spoke to the people once more and said, “I am the light of the world. If you follow me, you won’t have to walk in darkness, because you will have the light that leads to life.”] John 8:12 New Living Translation

 

 

This is still the same today as it was then. Jesus by His Spirit brings light into our darkness. He does it by His Spirit through His word ‘the Holy Bible!’ Do you read it? Do you read it regularly? It’s impossible to get God’s direction, guidance and purposes unless we read His word and put it into practice. The Psalmist said: Your word is a lamp to guide my feet and a light for my path. Psalm 119:105

 

 

Notice it’s a lamp to our feet, not a spotlight or flood light to light the way a mile down the road! The lamp in David’s day would only light the path ahead a few steps at a time, not yards down the road! You have to take a small step, then the next stage of the journey is lit up. Do you need revelation, light on the journey you are upon? Then you need ‘daily light’ for your daily path. That light which is God’s light in Christ is the light you will need, cuz whether you are a Christian or not, without His word, His light, you will walk in darkness!

 

 

And to boot, we need to be walking in God’s light so that we can be a light to others. God gave us Christ the Light of the world so that we can be lights to the world through Him! If we are not walking in the light as He is in the light then how can we help ourselves let alone others? I experienced this over the past few months and it’s a blessing to be a blessing to others. Make the lyrics of this Tim Hughes song your prayer.

PRAYER

Light of the world
You stepped down into darkness
Opened my eyes and let me see
Beauty that made this heart adore You
Hope of a life spent with You

Here I am to worship, here I am to bow down
Here I am to say that You’re my God
Altogether lovely, altogether worthy
Altogether wonderful to me

Tim Hughes

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A CHRISTMAS PURPOSE [the reason for the season]

  1. June OBrien says:

    Spot on John! Ace!! I’m helping in the service this morning at church and I’ve struggled with tat from all directions this week! Bless you John, my brother in Christ Jx PSM 121 ________________________________

Leave a Reply

