A CHRISTMAS PURPOSE [the reason for the season]

THE COST OF WORSHIP

“Yet a time is coming and has now come when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth, for they are the kind of worshipers the Father seeks. God is spirit, and his worshipers must worship in spirit and in truth.”
John 4:23-24

One more reason that Jesus gave us a “reason for the season” is to bring humankind back to it’s original state, that of freely worshipping God the Father and Creator of all things. One of the main reasons God created the human race was to worship and love Him freely, out of their own choice, volition and free will. The angels were created by God to worship and serve Him through duty; it’s their joy but also their job description! IT’S WHAT THEY WERE CREATED TO DO! We however, were given the choice to worship Him out of love and devotion, not duty. We sometimes read the Christmas narratives so loosely without deep thought and contemplation. For example: “WE SAW HIS STAR IN THE EAST AND HAVE COME TO WORSHIP HIM!”

Do you know how far away they were from Bethlehem when they saw the star? The Magi actually travelled between 8-900 miles to find the King of all kings. It took them up to two years to get to Bethlehem! [I don’t know if you are like me, but as a child I had a picture in my mind of the Magi standing outside their houses and looking west and seeing the star over the horizon, just a few miles away!] No, the star was over the land of Chaldea [IN THE EAST] and as it moved they followed it westward to Bethlehem! And as I said, it took them between 18 months to two years to get there! (Then Herod, when he saw that he had been tricked by the wise men, became furious, and he sent and killed all the male children in Bethlehem and in all that region who were two years old or under, according to the time that he had ascertained from the wise men.) Matthew 2:16-18

Jesus was now a child and not a baby; living in a house and not laying in a manger in a stable! [Matthew 2:11 N.I.V.] And what was the first thing they did? They fell to the ground and worshipped Him! May I be bold enough to challenge us today? Have we found time to get in to His PRESENCE and worshipped Him first before anything else? I challenge myself too! I have found time, but was it worthy of the King of kings? This is no guilt trip I’m trying to put us on! If we start with being in the presence of Jesus then the rest of the day will be much more peaceful than if we forget Him!

What we have seen today is how FAR they went to worship Jesus, there’s much more to it than that, so I’ll pursue this some more next time. Just look at these words to the song [“LOVE’S SACRIFICE”] by New Creation Church in Singapore [Joseph Prince’s Church]. They speak of Jesus’ sacrifice for us, but speak also of how we should sacrifice in worship of Him.

In the beauty of your holiness your face is all I see

In the glory of Your majesty I bow my knee, I bow my knee

to Worship You, Worship You

In the presence of Your perfect love My fears are swept away

In the tenderness of Your embrace I lift my hands, I lift my hands to

Worship You, Worship You

Your grace has opened my eyes

To see the beauty, the price of Your love’s sacrifice

Your love’s sacrifice

Your blood redeemed me from shame

Your power has broken the chains

This is love’s sacrifice, Your love’s sacrifice

LOVE’S SACRIFICE, NEW CREATION CHURCH SINGAPORE

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

