A CHRISTMAS PURPOSE [the reason for the season]

 THE COST OF WORSHIP

They entered the house and saw the child with his mother, Mary, and they bowed down and worshiped him. Then they opened their treasure chests and gave him gifts of gold, frankincense, and myrrh. Matthew 2:11 New Living Translation

I want to spend a little more time on this verse and subject as it has captured my thoughts. We see no sign of torpidity in these Magi. They were not sluggish or apathetic in their pursuit of worship and of giving to Christ. I have to be honest and I see this in myself as well as others, it’s like we are waiting for a “special feeling” or “a sign” or “something other worldly” to get us in the mood to worship God, be it in our work place, school, home, family or even at Church and to open our treasures to Him, be it time, money talents or skills!

No, as I have meditated upon and pursued this subject, I am more and more convinced that it is an act of the will! A choice, through ones own volition. We are not puppets on strings or glove puppets where God pulls the strings to make us worship Him, or forces His hand upon us to constrain us to dance to His tune! We have free will and we can choose the festive garments of praise or the spirit of heaviness and despair. We can choose a crown of beauty instead of ashes. We can choose a joyous blessing instead of mourning.

The Lord will not force us to seek and find Him if we freely choose not to. The Lord will not constrain us to worship Him by getting us by the scruff of the neck and forcing us to bow down and honour Him. The Lord will not invade our spirit and make us jump up, clap our hands and delight in Him. He waits for us, lovingly and longingly to choose to seek Him, pursue Him, worship Him and open our hearts, treasures and gifts to Him.

Ok, so what do we/I do in light of this? Well, for me I am choosing as an act of worship to do the “through the Bible in a year” by Selwyn Hughes again. I haven’t read the whole of the Bible through from cover to cover in at least 5 years! This study of Selwyn Hughes goes through the Bible Chronologically too, so that’s brill! I’ll still do my meditations, devotions and journaling too! This isn’t replacement but an addition a going the extra mile as did the Magi. I shall also listen to more contemporary Christian worship as well as an act of worship and give more time to the pursuits of the Kingdom as well. Now this is no new years resolution! It’s an act of worship, a commitment to God and I mean to follow it through. How about you?

PRAYER: HEAVENLY FATHER GOD, I CHOOSE TO PURSUE YOU AND SEEK YOU. I CHOOSE TO OFFER UP MYSELF AS A LIVING SACRIFICE TO YOU. I CHOOSE TO BOW BEFORE YOU, HONOUR YOU AND PRAISE YOU. WHETHER AT HOME, WORK OR CHURCH, I WILL NOT WAIT FOR OTHERS TO TAKE THE INITIATVE! I CHOOSE TO DO THAT. I CHOOSE NOT TO SPECTATE IN THE KINGDOM BUT TO PARTICIPATE IN THOSE THINGS YOU HAVE CALLED ME TO DO. GOD OUR GREAT CREATOR, I ADMIT THOUGH THAT IN MYSELF THIS WILL BE DIFFICULT SO I ASK YOU LORD HOLY SPIRIT TO HELP AND ENABLE ME TO DO THESE THINGS. IN JESUS’ NAME AMEN

 

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

