A CHRISTMAS PURPOSE [the reason for the season]

THE COST OF WORSHIP

They entered the house and saw the child with his mother, Mary, and they bowed down and worshiped him. Then they opened their treasure chests and gave him gifts of gold, frankincense, and myrrh. Matthew 2:11 New Living Translation

You know, the thing I love about the story of the Magi is that I could still teach on this subject for another 18-24 months and not feel silly about doing Christmas stuff!! However, sadly this is not the case as today’s is my last “Christmas” post till next December first! Ahhh ūüė¶

Here’s a question! ¬†“Of how much value is Jesus to you?” It is obvious from the narrative that The Christ child was very valuable to the Magi! It doesn’t require rocket science to work out how much the visit cost these wise men in time, money, commitments etc. You say “I love Him with all my heart!” Ok, nice answer, but does that hit your time? Your commitments? Your family priorities? Your pocket or purse? Your energy? Your passion? Your purpose, dreams and vision? How does Jesus affect your priorities during a 24 hour day? Only you can answer these questions just as I have had to.

The magi opened their treasure chests and took out gold, frankincense and myrrh! What is your treasure chest? What is in it that is of great value to you and which you could share with Jesus? I think I would say my treasure chest is me! [We now have this light shining in our hearts, but we ourselves are like fragile clay jars containing this great treasure. This makes it clear that our great power is from God, not from ourselves]. My life, temperament, personality, my body, soul and spirit! The vessel that transports certain talents [my treasures], my skills, hopes dreams and wishes, abilities, my time, my money, emotions, energy, drive and passions into the world on behalf of Christ who dwells in me.

So, this year I can offer myself, this vessel, this chest of treasures. I can open it up and offer Jesus my¬†talents, skills, hopes, dreams and wishes, abilities, my time, my money, emotions, energy, drive and passions. He is worthy of them. Will it cost me? Did it cost the Magi? Of course it did and it will cost me also, but He is worthy of all and more than I could ever offer Him. What is true worship if it doesn’t cost us or hurt. Listen to what King David said to Araunah when David¬†was commanded by the angel of the Lord build an altar on the threshing floor of Araunah.¬†

Chronicles 21:24New Living Translation (NLT)

But King David replied to Araunah, ‚ÄúNo, I insist on buying it for the full price. I will not take what is yours and give it to the Lord. I will not present burnt offerings that have cost me nothing!‚ÄĚ I will give the oxen for the burnt offerings, the threshing sledges for the wood, and the wheat for the grain offering. I will give all this.‚ÄĚ

Puts it in perspective for me, how about you? Worship that costs nothing is not true worship! Don’t believe me, read the Bible from Genesis to Revelation and see how much it cost when people really worshipped heart, soul, body, mind and substance.

PRAYER

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

