LOOKING FORWARD 2 LOOKING FORWARD

NO TURNING BACK

John Lennon wrote these lyrics “and so this is Christmas and what have you done, another year over and a new one just begun” [merry Christmas war is over]. [John Lennon]

So, how do you view 2016? With hope? Trepidation? Uncertainty? Excitement? Fear?Expectation? As I am looking forward this year I am in fact looking forward to this year! [note the play on words!] I am looking forward, not back! What’s the point of looking back except to learn from successes and failure? Someone said “IF YOU DRIVE ALONG A ROAD IN A CAR AND KEEP LOOKING BEHIND THROUGH THE REAR VIEW MIRROR MORE THAN YOU KEEP YOUR EYES ON THE ROAD AHEAD, SOONER OR LATER YOU WILL DRIVE INTO A DITCH, HIT SOMEONE, CRASH, KILL OR BE KILLED!” In other words, keep looking forward and occasionally look back to see that all’s going well!

Paul said:I do not consider, brethren, that I have captured and made it my own [yet]; but one thing I do [it is my one aspiration]: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the [supreme and heavenly] prize to which God in Christ Jesus is calling us upward. Philippians 3:13-14 Amplified Bible, Classic Edition (AMPC)

I love how the Message Bible puts it:

Focused on the Goal

12-14 I’m not saying that I have this all together, that I have it made. But I am well on my way, reaching out for Christ, who has so wondrously reached out for me. Friends, don’t get me wrong: By no means do I count myself an expert in all of this, but I’ve got my eye on the goal, where God is beckoning us onward—to Jesus. I’m off and running, and I’m not turning back.

I’ll be honest, the first few times I heard the worship song “CHRIST IS ENOUGH FOR ME” I really didn’t like it, until I heard it played with a strong Celtic beat and rhythm, so I tried it myself and hey presto, no turning back, no turning back! I love the song now. I’ll put down some of the lyrics and post the song to go with it.

VERSE]
Christ is my reward  and all of my devotion
Now there’s nothing in this world that could ever satisfy

[PRE-CHORUS]
Through every trial my soul will sing
No turning back I’ve been set free

[CHORUS]
Christ is enough for me Christ is enough for me
Everything I need is in You everything I need

[VERSE]
Christ my all in all the joy of my salvation
And this hope will never fail Heaven is our home

[PRE-CHORUS]
Through every trial my soul will sing
No turning back I’ve been set free

[CHORUS]
Christ is enough for me Christ is enough for me
Everything I need is in You everything I need

[BRIDGE]
I have decided to follow Jesus
No turning back
No turning back

The cross before me
The world behind me
No turning back
No turning back  [Hillsong Live – Christ Is Enough]

PRAYER

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

