LOOKING 4WARD 2 LOOKING 4WARD

Image result for ingredients of life pics

IN THE BLENDER AND CRUCIBLE OF LIFE

TODAY’S WORD FOR TODAY

God Never Wastes an Experience

‘In all things God works for the good of those who love him’. Romans 8:28

 No experience is ever wasted if you use it wisely. God can use what you’ve been through to develop you into the person He intended you to be. Moses grew up in a foster home. As the adopted son of Pharaoh’s daughter he spent forty years learning the language and ways of the Egyptians. What better preparation for understanding your enemy than being raised among them? But Moses needed to learn a few personal lessons too. So God took him into the desert for another forty years to tend sheep. The grandson of Pharaoh became a lowly shepherd. Nothing will humble you like having to take a job for which you’re overqualified, especially when your own failure put you there. But during those years on the poor side of town God taught Moses how to identify with hurting people. Finally, at eighty years old, he was ready to fulfil his calling. ‘God called to him from within the bush, “Moses! Moses!”’ (Exodus 3:4 NIV 2011 Edition). At this most unlikely place God revealed to Moses his calling as Israel’s deliverer. And even though he was afraid, made excuses, and raised objections, he ended up doing a brilliant job. The point is this: Moses’ eighty years in training weren’t wasted. Forty years in a palace prepared him to deal with Pharaoh, and forty years as a shepherd prepared him to lead God’s people through the wilderness to their destiny. So even though you’d rather be someplace other than where you are right now, remember, God never wastes an experience. Never! He will use it all for your good and His glory. BOB GASS

I heard this quote though I don’t know where from. But it was this: A FRIEND OF MICHAEL ANGELO VISITED HIM ONE DAY. ON THE FLOOR WAS A BIG UGLY LUMP OF MARBLE. WHEN THE FRIEND ASKED THE MASTER WHAT HE PROPOSED TO DO WITH IT HE REPLIED ‘I’M GOING TO SCULPTURE A BEAUTIFUL HORSE!’ SO THE FRIEND ASKED HOW? THE MASTER REPLIED ‘I WILL CHISEL OFF EVERYTHING THAT DOESN’T LOOK LIKE A HORSE!”

In Romans 8:28-29 We read, ‘ And we know that God causes everything to work together  for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them. For God knew his people in advance, and he chose them to become like his Son, so that his Son would be the firstborn among many brothers and sisters’.

This is clear that God’s ultimate purpose for us is to become like His Son! How does this take place?

  1. Like Michael Angelo’s horse, anything about us that doesn’t look like God’s Son is chiseled off!
  2. God allows the ALL THINGS to mould us, form us and shape us into the image of Christ. These arelife’s ingredients’ and some taste nice and others nasty. Some sour some sweet, some happy some sad! Get the picture?
  3. In the days of old when a gold Smith wanted pure gold he set up his crucible, got the fire hot, put the ore in the crucible and waited. As the raw ore heated up, the gold melted and the rubbish burned up and floated to the top and the heavier gold sank to the bottom. The smelter scooped off the dross and then turned the heat up some more, then waited and looked into the crucible. Any bits that remained were gently scooped away and the master looked some more and waited some more and maybe turned the heat up some more?! He looks intently into the crucible until he sees his own face reflected! This is why God has to turn up the heat! It brings the rubbish to the surface and as we recognize it we can then repent of it and God scoops it away so that the gold becomes dominant and God begins to see His own face reflected in and through our lives and we become more fully into the likeness of Christ!

PRAYER.    

Something beautiful, something good
All my confusion He understood
All I had to offer Him was brokenness and strife
But he made something beautiful of my life

If there ever were dreams
That were lofty and noble
They were my dreams at the start
And hope for life’s best were the hopes
That I harbor down deep in my heart
But my dreams turned to ashes
And my castles all crumbled, my fortune turned to loss
So I wrapped it all in the rags of life
And laid it at the cross.  Bill Gaither

Make that a personal prayer.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to LOOKING 4WARD 2 LOOKING 4WARD

  1. Julie Evans says:

    Love reading your daily posts. Give me a sense of purpose!

Leave a Reply

