DAY 5 “A great Christmas ADVENTure!”

5th December 2016 DAY 5

Stable factor 3Image result for the government shall be upon his shoulder pics

The Birth of Jesus

Just leaving end-times stuff for the day, [all though we are still very much in them]. Nevertheless I want to pick up on Jesus’s words which we read yesterday.

Image result for The bright star of Bethlehem pics

Jesus said “I am the light of the world, whoever follows me shall never walk in darkness but shall have the light of life”. John 8:12.

This came true in my life over 33 years ago. I was 26 and all I knew about Jesus was what I learned in Sunday School in my very early years, Christmas, Easter and as a swear word. Apart from that my life was very dark and to a degree wicked. I was a self-absorbed existentialist and a practicing spiritualist. But oh my life was dark and at times I loathed myself. I had a very poor self-image, self-worth problem and felt I never fit in. I used to get drunk a lot and fight often as these [apart from my sexual encounters] were the only release valves in my life.

Yet, I remember also many times staggering back home drunk and looking up into the night sky and asking some invisible [hopefully] benevolent being what my life was all about? Did I have a purpose in life? Did my life have meaning, significance and would I ever make a difference and if so “HOW??????” Well I eventually came to a point where I couldn’t take any more. I couldn’t sort myself out and the anger was getting more volcanic in me and I was starting to explode from within. I even contemplated suicide. But God had other plans. I had a Christmastime encounter that started a chain of events in my life which lead me right to the feet of Jesus. And even then, 6 months before I asked Jesus into my life, this encounter had end-time relevance! Want to know more? Then come back tomorrow and check out the rest of the story. 😀

Here’s a line from one of my favourite Christmas Carols. The Sussex Carol. It is my story in a verse.

All out of darkness we [I] have light,
Which made the angels sing this night:                                                                                          All out of darkness we [I] have light,
Which made the angels sing this night:
“Glory to God and peace to men [to me],
Now and for evermore, Amen!”

APPLICATION: Light has a source, darkness does not. There has and always will be light! Darkness comes only when light is dimmed, switched off or removed! Have you ever heard anyone say “would you switch the dark on please!” It’s never going to happen! Darkness has no power source. The darkness appears when you or I switch off our light! So when there’s much darkness in the world, guess who forgot to switch the light on!? Jesus is the light of the world, so follow Him daily and you’ll never be on the dark side. Let His light shine out of your life’s lamp! Jesus said You are the world’s light—a city on a hill, glowing in the night for all to see”.  [Matthew 5:14] Paul said “that you may be blameless and innocent, children of God without blemish in the midst of a crooked, dark and twisted generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world”.  And the Psalmist wrote: “Your word is a lamp to our feet and a light to our path”. [Psalm 119:105] So read a portion of His word daily, it is light to our hearts, our path and a light to those who walk in a dark world. You or I just may be that little light they need to get back on to the right path.

PRAYER. Pray this prayer with me. Thank you Lord Jesus that 33 [your date……] years ago you became the stable factor in my life. I have walked with you and followed you and though there have been dark days, nevertheless I have never returned to the dark side of which I was a part, for you keep me by your power O God through faith. And even though there have been many storms in my life, many deep rivers to cross and many dark valleys to go through, nevertheless, you have walked through them with me and even now you still do and you will continue to right into eternity and you’ve said that you will never leave nor forsake me and that you’ll be with me even to the end of the age. Thank you that you are the Light of life and the Light of my life but dear Lord, help me to be a light to some lost and lonely soul this day. May be someone who’s strayed from your path, or been hurt and have walked away from the light. Lord let this little light of mine shine brightly today In Jesus’ name. Amen.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

