DAY 7 “A great Christmas ADVENTure!”

 December 7th 2016 [Day 7]

Image result for The bright star of Bethlehem pics

“I am the light of the world, whoever follows me shall never walk in darkness but shall have the light of life”. John 8:12.

So, I left us with this question yesterday! “So, how did I get saved that June in 83? What did Holy Spirit begin to teach me and what were my Christmases like after that?”  In the period between Christmas and April of 83 in Gambia, I got very sick with blood disorders to the point where I had to return to a more temperate climate. I was still very keen to become a qualified gardener so I applied to a horticultural college, but because I had no gardening experience they wouldn’t take me on unless I got some. So I applied to a voluntary organization to do voluntary gardening for pensioners thus getting some experience. Whilst doing this they offered me a job as a paid gardener for a new scheme called man power services [though it was only a supplementary paid job.] However, because I had been working out of the country for the last 12 months I wasn’t eligible to be employed by them as a gardener. However, because I’d been a building landscape gardening supervisor on a YOP’s scheme, I could apply for the full-time gardening supervisors job that was available. It was a good paying job and I got it despite the fact that there was a fully qualified horticulturist who’d gone for it too [who never let me forget that!]

And because I got that position, I had to work daily alongside my manager Dennis who was the born again Christian I mentioned! He got saved at a Reinhard Bonnke meeting! Can you see how God was working all these things together for good!? He began to witness to me [and as he later said, he could see God was working in my life!] He told me about Jesus and the cross, but I objected because Jesus was so good and I’d been so evil! So I told him that I was a vicious fighter, he told me he’d been a teddy boy and done some wicked things. I then told him I’d been a womanizer, he too said he had been a womanizer. So I hit him [so I thought with my trump card!] I told him I was a practicing spiritualist and that I sometimes went to a spiritualist Church. He said he used to be a spiritualist and it turned out we both went to the same spiritualist Church or at least he used to!

To cut a very long story short, Dennis invited me to his Church. It was a Pentecostal Church and it was full of colour, life and joy. I had not expected that. And more, I had not expected to give my heart and life to Jesus Christ within two weeks of first going to his Church! And thus began the journey of a lifetime, and over 33 years later I am still journeying and still digging deeper into end time studies. So I’ll close this section off tomorrow as I look at how I began to get hungry for God’s word and especially regarding end-times topics.

Image result for christmas carolers pictures

PRAYER Heavenly Father God. I am ever grateful to you for your servant Dennis who told me about Jesus and how you brought just the right person to tell me about Jesus, someone who had been where I had been. I pray you would help me to be a good witness for you and if there are people out there of whom my testimony may help lead them to Christ, then please draw us together just as you drew Dennis and I together. Thank you Holy Spirit Lord amen

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

