DAY 10 “A great Christmas ADVENTure!”

December 10th 2016 [Day 10]

Image result for christmas comfort pics

I mentioned yesterday that there weer 66 books in the Bible and 66 chapters in the book of Isaiah! Now I’m not saying that every chapter in Isaiah corresponds with each book of the Old and New Testaments! However, of all the Major prophets, Isaiah captures the essence of 1st and 2nd advents more than the the others! So, there must be some clues there to be found. And as I stated yesterday in Isaiah 39/40 we suddenly see a change of mood as it were! Look at Malachi [the 39th book of the Old Testament!] and in verses 4-6 of chapter 4 the last Chapter of Malachi, It prophesies the forerunner to Christ [John the Baptist!] Now look at Isaiah 40:3-6 corresponding with the start of the New Covenant!] It also speaks of Christ’s forerunner [John the Baptist!] Check it out. So, I personally read Isaiah 40:1-8 as 1st Advent of Christ! Now read 40:9-11 to me this speaks of 2nd Advent! Why?

  1. We see more comfort, mercy and grace from Isaiah 40-66 which corresponds to the  N.T. dispensation of grace rather than law and judgement!
  2. John prepared the way for the Lord Jesus by making a “level” playing field for everyone to come to Christ. Ordinary or Elite had to repent, be baptized and turn from their sin. Isaiah 40 vs 3-4.
  3. “The glory of the Lord will be revealed” [Isaiah 40:5] “The breath of the Lord” [40:7] references The coming of the Holy Spirit through Christ and His Spirit baptism and fire. And “The Word of the Lord” [Isaiah 40:8] are obvious references to Christ the Messiah at His 1st Advent!
  4. Jesus Himself made reference to the comforting of His people when he declared that He desired to take Jerusalem under His wings like a mother hen and comfort them. [Isaiah 40:1]

Now, read 40:9-11, the comfort of Israel, Jerusalem and Judah is now gone!… “do not be afraid!”.. Your Lord is coming!” “In all His glorious power!”..He will rule with awesome strength!”..He will comfort His flock once more!” To me this is prophesying that Israel had now entered the time of Jacob’s trouble [the Tribulation period] and has much to be afraid of, hence the Lord offers them comfort! Israel is crying out for her Messiah. In verse 9-11 we don’t see Jesus meek and mild Saviour and servant King! We see the King of Glory, returning a 2nd time to rule and reign in awesome power bringing His reward with Him as He comes! Now where have I read that statement before? Oh yes…“Look, I am coming soon! My reward is with me, and I will give to each person according to what they have done!”  Revelation 22:12

APPLICATION: If like me you are a pretribulation rapturist, then the coming of the Lord in the blessed hope may be sooner than we think!? He is coming for us and His reward is with Him. However, the extent of that reward personally depends on the extent of our faithfulness in service to our Master!” Don’t believe me? Go study these scriptures and then meditate much upon them! Matthew 25:14-30. 2 Corinthians 5:10. 1 Corinthians 3:10-15 and Ephesians 2:8-10. I’ll look at these in depth towards the end of this whole study.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

