DAY 22 “A great Christmas ADVENTure!”

December 22nd 2016 [Day 22]

THE COST OF WORSHIP

“Yet a time is coming and has now come when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth, for they are the kind of worshipers the Father seeks. God is spirit, and his worshipers must worship in spirit and in truth.”
John 4:23-24

Let us continue as we look at how far the Magi went to worship Jesus. We have seen that they traveled almost a thousand miles to spend a few hours or so in the presence of Jesus Christ. However, we often forget

  1. To double that distance! They had to go back home after their short stay! That’s potentially another 1000 miles or more, and another 2 years or more of traveling!
  2. Notice upon closer inspection of the narrative we read:- “Having been warned in a dream not to go back to Herod, they left for their own country by a different road”. Matthew 2:12 International Standard Version! So they didn’t return by the shortest route because Herod would’ve had them killed! So it is my guess that they would’ve probably gone north, then north east across the Golan heights, in to Syria and down in to what we now know as Iraq! So I’m guessing the return journey probably took them 100’s of miles out of their way and probably over 2 yrs or much much more to return home. Just for a few hours in Christ’s presence! [You really need to chew on that thought!!] So, was it worth it? Absolutely. It would’ve been life changing for these folk. So, how far are we prepared to go for Jesus? How costly is our/my worship?

Did the Magi have family? Loved ones? children? Grandchildren? Work commitments? I am guessing they did? They would have had to leave all of that behind them for a round journey of probably 2000 miles or more and 3 -4 years or more! That’s costly in time! And think of the cost financially not including the very costly gifts? Man, this is staggering!! Ah, I hear some say, they were probably very rich! Yes and sometimes they’re the worst for loosing money out of their pockets and giving of their precious time! Whether rich or poor, it’s irrelevant, we all have 24 hours in a day no matter who we are! How much of those 24 hours do we give to our wonderful Saviour? One tenth of 24 hours is only 2 hours 40 minutes, not much really is it? God only asks for 10% of our income also, so the other 90% is our own! So it doesn’t matter how little or how much money we earn, we only have to give God 1 tenth. Time and money are probably two of our greatest commodities, and how we relate them to God is an indicator of our worship of Him, because worship is not just those nice songs we sing at Church, but it’s a daily lifestyle! “Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship”. Romans 12:1

Image result for pictures of the three kings

What can I give Him,
Poor as I am?
If I were a shepherd
I would bring a lamb,
If I were a wise man
I would do my part,
Yet what I can I give Him,
Give my heart. [In the bleak mid winter]

APPLICATION: Make it a prayer right now to recommit your heart to Jesus for Christmas and the new year. Give Him your heart, give Him your gifting’s, give Him your all and everything.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

