DAY 26 “A great Christmas ADVENTure!”

December 26th 2016 [Day 26]

Image result for Christmas time pieces pics

GOD’S TIMING? “PERFECT!”

So Joseph also went up from Galilee, from the city of Nazareth, to Judea, to the city of David which is called Bethlehem, because he was of the house and family of David,  in order to register with Mary, who was betrothed to him, and was with child.

What I read here in these few words is that not only was the Christ-child Jesus born at the right time in the right place and in the right family, but so too for Joseph and Jesus’s biological mother Mary. Think about it, this goes right back to Adam! Don’t believe me? Then check out Joseph’s geneaology in Matthew 1:1-16 [especially verse 16]. And Mary’s geneaology in Luke 3:23-38! [though Mary is not mentioned in Luke 3] most reputable scholars conclude this is Mary’s family line as does Ryrie’s Bible commentary:

The genealogy in Matt. 1:1f is traced through Joseph, Jesus’ legal (though not biological) father, and it establishes His claim and right to the throne of David (v. 6). The genealogy in Luke 3:23-38 is evidently that of Mary, though some believe it is also Joseph’s, by assuming that Matthan (Matt 1:15) and Matthat (Luke 3:24) were the same person and Jacob (Matt 1:16) and Eli (Luke 3:23) were brothers (one being Joseph’s father and the other his uncle). 

Many conservative scholars have taken the [above] view because of the many differences in the names between the two accounts. The biggest difference is that after David, many of the names are different. It would seem best to explain the difference by viewing Luke’s genealogy as tracing the physical ancestors of Christ through Mary, while Matthew’s genealogy traces the kingly line of Christ through Joseph.

bethlehem christmas: Christmas. Night Bethlehem, wise men following the star of Bethlehem Illustration

The more I meditate upon this the more I am in awe of God! He got these two people together through a series of extraordinary events and encounters from Adam to Abraham to David to Jesus Christ the true King of David’s line. God loves families and may I boldly say this day of December 26th 2016 “you are in the right family at the right time in the right place!” You may not feel like it and whether you are in a functional or dysfunctional family, crazy as it seems, it’s God’s choice for you. More of that tomorrow as I share some stuff about my family! Oooooh!!!

APPLICATION: Stop reading this right now and bow before the Lord and give Him thanks and praise for your family, geneaology and ancestry. God was working each step according to His plan to bring your life about and at the same time he was working in other peoples lives to help fashion you into the person you now are and whom perhaps your children may become and not to mention your influence and interactions with folk at Church, your work place and even the world. I mean look at Mary and Joseph both from poor humble upbringing yet rich in ancestral history right back to David and Abraham! Who would have thunk the impact they made on their generation right up to this generation over 2000 years later. Blows ya mind ay!!??

PRAYER: Abba, Father, King and Creator of all things. Wow, when I look at this narrative and think of the impact this little family unit has made upon history then for once I am speechless! I thank you for my own family and how amazingly you brought my mom and dad together and I became who I am now through them biologically and spritually through your Son, the Son of God and biological son of Mary. Thank you Lord, I now have eternity in my heart because of your PERFECT TIMING! Thank you Lord. Amen

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

