DAY 27 “A great Christmas ADVENTure!”

December 27th 2016 [Day 27]

Image result for Christmas time pieces pics

GOD’S TIMING? “PERFECT!”

So Joseph also went up from Galilee, from the city of Nazareth, to Judea, to the city of David which is called Bethlehem, because he was of the house and family of David,  in order to register with Mary, who was betrothed to him, and was with child.

God moves in a mysterious way His wonders to perform;
He plants His footsteps in the sea and rides upon the storm.                                               Deep in unfathomable mines of never failing skill                                                                           He treasures up His bright designs and works His sovereign will                                             His purposes will ripen fast, unfolding every hour;
The bud may have a bitter taste, but sweet will be the flower.                                               Blind unbelief is sure to err and scan His work in vain;
God is His own interpreter, and He will make it plain.  [William Cowper]

So to my story. My dad was born and raised in Torun Poland! On September 1, 1939 because of the German-Soviet Pact of August 1939, which stated that Poland was to be partitioned between the two powers, enabled Germany to attack Poland without the fear of Soviet intervention. On September 1, 1939, Germany invaded Poland. The Polish army was defeated within weeks of the invasion. Just imagine how my dad felt as a young 16 year old knowing his homeland’s fate was to be the same as Czechoslovakia’s and Austria’s!? He, his dad, mum, sister and 2 brothers were carted off to Germany as pow’s. Fortunately because of their German/Austrian surname and ancestry the German authorities were lenient to them. My dad [the oldest male son] had the choice, go with the family into a reasonable pow camp or join the German army. So my dad knowing who the winning team was at this point joined up! I don’t blame him, I may have done the same thing.

Image result for Christmas during ww2 photos

He didn’t tell us much about what happened, but I knew by his eyes that he saw some horrors so I never pursued it. However, he and some of his Polish friends were stationed near France as Germany moved in for the kill there! He never told us what they did [use your imagination] but they deserted, managed to get over the French border without being shot which was the penalty for desertion! He was shipped to Great Britain and my dad with his naval background served Britain in a Port in north east Scotland, somewhere near Aberdeen! Then at the end of the war he moved from Scotland to the Midlands! So, want to know what happened next? Then come back tomorrow for the conclusion of this amazing way God brings about His will and purposes in individual and corporate lives of people!

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

