A PROMISE A DAY HELPS YOU WORK, REST AND PRAY!

January 2nd 2017 [Day 2]

CAST AWAY

Image result for God keeps his promises pics

Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.”  [Matthew 11:28-30] NLT

Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly. MSG

Image result for Matthew 11:28-30

Context:  Here Jesus was dealing with the burden of religion, however there are many different burdens we can carry! In Jesus’ day they obviously didn’t have tractors, so they used a team of Oxen, usually two beasts! However, one may be a young oxen that has never plowed before, so they would yoke it to an older more experienced Ox! So they would be yoked together and the young would learn from the old! There is no one older and wiser than Christ, He is the Ancient of days! So, I think it is best to go to Him who is all Knowing and can help us in every and any situation with any and every need!

Application: “Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares about you”. 1 Peter 5:7 I don’t think the Application could be any simpler! What are the CONDITIONS to the PROMISE?Come to me”. “Give all your worries and cares!” Sounds a doddle to me! You just throw yourself at His mercy and this is what He does: He PROMISES  I will give you rest. I will teach you. You will find rest for your souls. So, today instead of trying to carry all your worries, cares and baggage on your own, cast yourself and your heavy load on Him, fulfill the condition and He will fulfill the promise!

Prayer: Lord Jesus, it is so simple. I come to you and offload my burden by sharing it with you. I understand that at times you won’t fully remove it because there are lessons to learn from the weights and there is character to be strengthened and our souls reinforced. I understand this and so I cast all these cares upon you today……………………………… and know you will come under me and carry it with me. I choose to take your yoke because it is easy and light compare to the weight this world seeks to burden us with! I want to learn of you and I want to find rest for my soul especially as I face a busy new year. Thank you Lord. Amen

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

