A PROMISE A DAY HELPS YOU WORK, REST AND PRAY!

January 4th 2017 [Day 4]

 

YOU CAN’T JUST PICK A PROMISE OR TWO!

Image result for God keeps his promises pics

And the Lord will guide you continually and satisfy your desire in scorched places and make your bones strong; and you shall be like a watered garden,
like a spring of water, whose waters do not fail. Isaiah 58:11  ESV

The Lord will guide you continually, giving you water when you are dry
and restoring your strength. You will be like a well-watered garden,
like an ever-flowing spring.
AMP

Related image

I love this verse especially as I am a keen gardener! This promise is awesome and who would’t want it answered? Yet again, if you picked this verse out of a promise box on its own it would be totally out of context and may not be immediately answered by God if at all! And if the conditions are not met why should the promise be met? After all, you can’t just pick a promise or two and think “BINGO, that’s it!” This promise is in the middle of many conditions! So, let us briefly view the context.

Context:   Vs 58:1-3   God’s people were very religious outwardly and their worship though very pious was nevertheless a cold calculated religion! Vs 4-5. They were trying to impress God with their works especially through fasting and abstaining from unlawful things. But these were self motivated and self promoting acts! Vs 6-7. So, God tells them the conditions of the kind of fasting He is looking for:

“Here is the way I want you to fast. Set free those who are held by chains without any reason. Untie the ropes that hold people as slaves. Set free those who are crushed. Break every evil chain. Share your food with hungry people. Provide homeless people with a place to stay. Give naked people clothes to wear. Provide for the needs of your own family”. [NIRV] See, it’s not so much as taking something away to impress God, but to give something away to reflect the heart of God! The gospel is a social gospel as well as a spiritual gospel, and we would be wise to understand this! So, here’s the promise in the context of the conditions.

And the Lord will guide you continually and satisfy your desire in scorched places and make your bones strong; and you shall be like a watered garden,
like a spring of water, whose waters do not fail. It’s these promises after the above conditions are met! Then the Lord goes back to unmet social conditions and promises for fulfilling them [see verse 9ff]

Application: Call upon the Lord and ask Him what kind of fast He requires of yourself at the start of this new year! What does He want you to do as an act of kindness as well as removing something out of your life for a while which may be good for you but nevertheless, doesn’t help anyone else, especially those in need! Challenging thought isn’t it!

Prayer:  Lord God my Father. You so loved the world that you gave! Help me to fulfill the social gospel as well as the spiritual. If you do both, then so should I as I am called to reflect you. I also really want to experience the promise of verse 8 not only for myself but to be a blessing for others too. Help me to also grasp this spiritual truth that promises come with conditions. Help me to see this and do something about it for your glory. Amen

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

