A PROMISE A DAY HELPS YOU WORK, REST AND PRAY!

January 6th 2017 [Day 6]

DON’T BE SHEEPISH, FOLLOW THE GOOD SHEPHERD

Image result for God keeps his promises pics

Because the Lord is my Shepherd, I have everything I need! Psalm 23:1 TLB

The Lord is my shepherd; I have all that I need. NLT

Image result for psalm 23:1 pics

In the Hebrew language one of God’s names is Jehovah or Yahweh. His name Jehovah is His covenant title or as in the New Covenant “THE LORD!” As God began to gradually reveal to His people who He was and how He worked with and for His people, He began to add adjectives to His titles! So here we see Rohi [Shepherd] added to define God’s working for us and to us as a shepherd does his sheep! Thus Jehovah or [The Lord] is my Shepherd! God’s covenant with us is basically a two-way contract. [1] What God does for us when [2] we follow him! He promises to care for us, provide for us, protect us and lead us and all we have to do is follow Him, love Him, serve and worship Him and live for Him! Not too hard a task methinks? So in the context of psalm 23 we see:

Context: David is here playing on the name of God in covenant relationship to us! David understood the terms of the covenant from God’s perspective and from His people’s. David was a shepherd and so he understood the relationship between the shepherd [PROVIDER] and his sheep [FOLLOWERS/RECEIVERS!] And so he makes the comparison of God being our Shepherd [covenant PROVIDER] and us the sheep of His pasture [Covenant FOLLOWERS/RECEIVERS] And so God promises to care for us if we follow Him.

Application: Read the rest of the psalm! Our side of the covenant is relatively easy. [1] Receive His provision. [2] Rest when He gives you opportunity. [3] Relax, He’s in control. [4] Respect His name and live the Right way that He called you to live. [5] Rely on Him when the going gets tough and dark. [6] Accept His Rod and staff of correction. [7] Recline at His banquet feast. [8] Rejoice in His mercy, love and goodness. [9] Remain in His house forever more. A pretty good deal for us I think! So let’s do this and enjoy Him and His blessings.

Prayer: Gracious and loving God, my wonderful Shepherd. How can I not want to follow you all the days of my life? Where else would I go? Who else has the words of eternal life? What other loves me with an everlasting love as you love me. So God, Jehovah my Good Shepherd, I choose to follow you and if I should err along the way then lead me back to you. I choose to love you, follow you, worship you and serve you for your name’s sake. Amen

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

