A PROMISE A DAY HELPS YOU WORK, REST AND PRAY!

January 11th 2017 [Day 11]

Image result for God keeps his promises pics

 And my God shall supply all your need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:19

My God will supply all that you need from his glorious resources in Christ Jesus. J B Phillips

Image result for philippians 4:19 pics

This is one of those promises everyone quotes and you find it in every promise box. However, there’s a condition to this promise that is easily missed because it is in the context and not in the actual verse. Note the highlighted words and phrases!

Context: As you know, you Philippians were the only ones who gave me financial help when I first brought you the Good News and then traveled on from Macedonia. No other church did this. Even when I was in Thessalonica you sent help more than once.  I don’t say this because I want a gift from you. Rather, I want you to receive a reward for your kindnessAt the moment I have all I need—and more! I am generously supplied with the gifts you sent me with Epaphroditus. They are a sweet-smelling sacrifice that is acceptable and pleasing to God. And this same God who takes care of me will supply all your needs from his glorious riches, which have been given to us in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:15-19 NLT

Application: I personally don’t believe it’s a case of quoting one or more verse and getting what you pray/ask for! It may be the case sometimes but not every time! There is a principle we have looked at the past few days! Sowing and reaping. Conditions and promises. The Philippians had fulfilled one of the laws of Christ! “You should remember the words of the Lord Jesus: ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive!” Acts 20:35. And “Give and it shall be given unto you!” The Church folk at Philippi had been exceedingly generous to Paul and the gospel. And so Paul says in effect, ‘when you have a need, the same God who supplied my needs through His glorious riches in Christ, will supply your need also through His glorious riches in Christ’. Now in the context, God supplied Paul’s needs through His people in the Church at Philippi and He would supply the Philippians needs through His people too, because much of God’s glorious riches in Christ is invested in the Church [corporately and individually!]

Everything we have is God’s or at least that seems to me what the Bible teaches. Now I am not saying God can’t just make money or whatever your need is just appear out of thin air but God doesn’t do magic, He does miracles! This is the Kingdom of God power and not Harry Potter magic! So, this is not usually the way God operates; He could create something out of nothing but generally He doesn’t. He said to Moses ‘what’s that in your hand?’ It was Moses’ staff and God did miracles through it. The Egyptian magicians were limited to magic tricks and that stopped when it came to changing the natural order of things! Only God could do that.

And so, when Peter needed to pay his taxes, Jesus told him to go catch a fish and the tax money was in its mouth. Now did Jesus miraculously put a coin in the fishes mouth or had the fish swallowed a coin that was dropped by someone in the lake? Either way, it’s miraculous that the first fish Peter caught had the right money for the government tax in its mouth and so God gets all the glory. Therefore, if there’s a need in Church say, and someone is praying for that need, then often God puts it on the heart of a believer to release that money/need! This has happened to me many times, be it myself on the receiving end or myself on the giving end?! After all; ALL that we have  we have because we are coheirs in Christ, so what’s His is ours and what’s ours is His like the marriage contract or covenant. I hope this make some sense? 

Prayer:  Father, help us to understand that it’s not just about name it and claim it. Your word is clear, there are certain principles at work that release blessings from heaven just as there are natural laws in our universe! Laws like ‘ask and it shall be given’, ‘give and you shall receive’, ‘bless others and you’ll be blessed’, or ‘where two agree to anything touching the earth it shall be done by the Father’, and ‘cast YOUR bread on the waters and in many days it shall return to YOU’. Help me please to not be a selfish person but a sowing and generously giving person. In Jesus’ name Amen.

 

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

